Iowa Central is Learfield Cup winner

Honor complements school’s NATYCAA Cup championship

Submitted photo Iowa Central assistant athletic director Gregg Haden stands with the Learfield Directors’ Cup trophy in Orlando, Fla. earlier this week.

ORLANDO, Fla. — Iowa Central Community College has repeated as the Learfield Directors’ Cup winner, becoming the first two-year school in the history of the award to be honored in consecutive athletic seasons.

The Learfield Directors’ Cup honor, also known as the all-sports trophy, is presented to the top athletic department in the country annually for each division of competition (NCAA Div. I, II, III, NAIA, and two-year schools). Iowa Central’s division includes programs from three national organizations that represent two-year colleges.

USA Today and the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) launched the competition and national standings in 1993.

The Tritons accumulated 196 points, with Spokane (Wash.) Community College (184) and Mt. San Antonio (Tex.) Community College (166) next in line.

Iowa Central had 32 athletic teams and 1,651 student-athletes in the 2016-17 academic year. The wrestling, indoor track and field and bowling teams won national championships this past season, with the men’s cross country and women’s indoor track and field squads finishing as national runner-ups. The men’s and women’s swimming teams, women’s bowling, and women’s outdoor track and field all placed third nationally as well.

”This award belongs to our student-athletes,” said Gregg Haden, ICCC assistant athletic director. ”It was their performances, with the honor of our outstanding coaching staff, that (secured this award).

“As much as we appreciate it and as grateful as we are for it, the greatest reward we’ve ever been given is the simple opportunity to help generations of kids learn how to think critically about the world around them through athletics.”

Earlier this week at the NACDA convention, Iowa Central was also awarded the National Alliance of Two-Year College Athletic Administrators (NATYCAA) Cup honor for the eighth time in the last nine seasons.

Rick Sandquist just completed his seventh year as Iowa Central’s athletic director.

Stanford earned the NCAA Div. I Learfield Directors’ Cup.