Knutzon going into ISU Hall of Fame

Eagle Grove High School graduate, golf star will be honored in September

AMES — Eagle Grove High School graduate and former Fort Dodge Amateur champion Jason Knutzon is among the six former Iowa State University athletes who will be inducted into the ISU Athletics Hall of Fame for 2019, the Iowa State Letterwinners Club announced on Thursday.

The special ceremony will be Sept. 20 at the Sukup End Zone Club in Ames. All six inductees will then be honored at halftime of the Iowa State-Louisiana-Monroe game on Saturday, Sept. 21.

As a Cyclone, Knutzon was a four-time NCAA Tournament participant. The 1994 Eagle Grove graduate made first team all-Big 12 in 1997, while setting a single-season stroke average (72.71) that stood in the program for 11 years.

Knutzon had eight Top-10 individual finishes during the 1996-97 campaign as a junior. He won three tournaments overall during his ISU career, and was a runner-up five times. His 18 Top-10 efforts tied for second in the program’s record books.

Knutzon won the FD Am in 1998 with a record score of 65-64-70–199 at the Fort Dodge Country Club. He was the first player ever to go under 200 for the 54-hole event.

Knutzon also qualified for the U.S. Amateur in 1998.

On the Asian Tour, Kntutzon was a two-time winner. He amassed over $2 million as a member of both the Asian and European Tours in his career.

Knutzon participated in the U.S. Open in 2003, and the British Open in 2011.

Knutzon will be joined by Seneca Wallace (football), Gina Curtis (women’s track and field), Jack Flemming (men’s basketball), Barnaba Korir (men’s track and field and cross country), and Don Wengert (baseball).

The Iowa State Hall of Fame was established in 1997. A total of 188 Cyclone legends have been enshrined. A selection committee comprised of ISU administrators and athletic alumni determines the honorees.