MNW speech has record year

MANSON — A combination of work ethic, dedication, and talent propelled the Cougar Speech Team to its best season ever.

“Mr. Olson, Mrs. Quade and I couldn’t be more thrilled with how hard our students worked this year,” said Head Coach Kim Keller. “It’s a long season, and our students put in a lot of long hours. We are very fortunate that their dedication paid off.”

The season started on Jan. 17 with the district contest in Storm Lake. The team brought 12 groups to contest and 11 groups earned a “I” or “Excellent” rating and moved on to the state contest in LeMars on Feb. 3.

“Our Freshmen Readers Theater group performed very well, and although they received a II at districts and didn’t move on, we are really excited about the promise of this group. They are really talented and have a bright future.”

At state contest in LeMars, two of the 11 groups earned a “II” rating. Those groups were Group Improv and the Freshmen Radio Broadcast. The other nine groups earned a “I.”

Of the groups who earned a “I” at state contest, six groups were selected for the All-State Speech Festival at Iowa State University in Ames. Those groups are: Choral Reading, “The Devil and Tom Walker”; Radio Broadcasting, “K-Dystopia”; Readers Theater, “The NSA Guide to Winning Friends and Influencing People”; One Act Play, “Lockdown”; Solo Mime — Major Johnson, “The Bookshelf”‘; Solo Mime, Cameron Swanson, “The Pizzeria.”

“We have never had six groups selected for All-State in one year. This is incredibly exciting. The honor speaks highly of how hard our kids worked and how dedicated they were to their respective groups. It’s definitely been an exceptional year for Cougar Large Group Speech.”

Members of the 2018 groups included: Choral Reading: Holden Jud, Julie Quade, Cara DeWall, Jacob Siepker, Jamison Schriever, Abby Larson, Natalie Reese, Kate Schreier, Ben Quade, Brian Pearson, Samantha Ruhland, Dakota Gailey, Autumn Marsh, Courtney Wubben and Major Johnson.

Varsity Readers Theater: Holden Jud, Julie Quade, Cara DeWall, Abby Larson, Natalie Reese, Ben Quade and Brian Pearson.

One-Act Play: Jamison Schreiever, Jacob Siepker, Kaylie Clow, Sydney Colshan, Tiffany Espe, Zoe Fiddelke, Corynn Jensen, Alexis Stuhrenberg, Emma Anderson, and Lauren Harris.

Varsity Radio Broadcasting: Tiffany Espe, Lauren Harris, Zoe Fiddelke, Jacob Fiddelke and Emma Anderson.

Solo Mime: Cameron Swanson; Major Johnson; Ilyssa Austin.

Group Improv: Alexis Hanson and Landon Stone.

Group Mime; “Complicit” — Kate Schreier, Brenna Birkey, Erin Eldridge, and Dakota Gailey.

Group Mime: “Fiery Feast” — Kaylie Clow, Alexis Stuhrenberg and Sydney Colshan.

Ninth Grade Radio Broadcasting: Hunter Olson, Conner Christensen, Brayden Pritchard, and Carson Bower.

Ninth Grade Readers Theater: Aubree Jones, Maddie Moline, Quinn Lachelt, Brighton Pullen, Kelsey Widlund, Rylee Quade, Alexis Wood, Natalie Pearson, Hannah Horn, Delaney Marine and Allyson Jaeschke.