Southeast Valley student wins INF scholarship

Ten Iowa students have been selected as recipients of Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year. The scholarships are awarded to students preparing for careers in journalism.

Patrick Dean Breitsprecher, who is graduating from Southeast Valley, received the Robert K. and Evelyn M. Reiste Memorial Scholarship, $1,000. Breitsprecher will attend Wartburg College following graduation.

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation received more than 80 applications for the 10 scholarships. These annual scholarships are one way the INF contributes to the education of young Iowans anticipating newspaper careers.

The Robert K. and Evelyn M. Reiste Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a student focusing on journalism with a community newspaper or family owned business interest.

The INF will offer scholarships for students again next year. Online application will be available to all public and private high schools in Iowa as well as college and university journalism and mass communication departments. Look for more information on the Iowa Newspaper Association website at www.inanews.com in September 2018.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today