Kahler Memorial Scholarship given

ESTHERVILLE — Iowa Lakes Community College recently announced the 2017-18 recipients of the Mary J. Kahler Memorial Scholarship. The 2017-18 area recipient is Philkeith Sagini, of Emmetsburg.

Arthur Kahler, of Bancroft, established the Mary J. Kahler Memorial Scholarship at Iowa Lakes Community College in 2006. Prior to her death, Mary Kahler loved to travel, raise flowers, garden and entertain her nieces, nephews and other family at the farm she started with Art. Mary Kahler worked as a nurse for more than 43 years and was instrumental in starting the nursing program at Iowa Lakes. Recipients must be full-time nursing program students with a permanent residency in Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth or Palo Alto counties and meet minimum academic standards. Awards are $1,000 per recipient.