Gene Leonard Memorial Scholarship awarded

EMMETSBURG — The Iowa Lakes Community College recently released the names of the Gene Leonard Memorial Scholarships. The 2017-18 area recipients are: Emmetsburg — Emily Berkland, Dalton Connelly, Grant Deitering, Shelby Loomis, Austin Noll; Graettinger — Ethan Boughey, Zach Girres, Joshua Petrich, Samuel Skattebo, Jordan Thompson; Ruthven — Nathan Benson, Keeven Long, Erick Sundall; West Bend — Megan Brown.

The Gene Leonard Memorial Scholarship was established in 2002 to provide financial support to students residing in areas he farmed. This scholarship is administered by Iowa Lakes Community College regardless of where the recipient attends college. Candidates must be a permanent resident and high school graduate from Palo Alto or Emmet counties enrolled full-time with a minimum cumulative GPA and financial need determined by FAFSA. This scholarship is not renewable. Awards vary up to $6,000.