St. Edmond’s Lursen earns NCC honors

Despite checking in at just 5-foot-6, Anna Lursen stood out among the giants of the North Central Conference this past winter.

Lursen, a St. Edmond sophomore, was tabbed to the all-NCC third team after finishing fourth in the league in rebounding.

Ella Sharar of Iowa Falls-Alden, Morgan Mann from Humboldt and Lauren McLaughlin of regular season champion Algona were unanimous selections, with Madi Ott from Clear Lake, Jordan Valley of Hampton-Dumont/CAL and Ava Fischer of Humboldt rounding out the elite squad.

Making the second team were Elliot Ennis from Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, Kaitlyn Nelson of Humboldt, Brooklyn Valley from Hampton-Dumont/CAL, Josie Johnson of Iowa Falls-Alden and Hayden Kuhlmann and Hayden McLaughlin of Algona.

Joining Lursen on the third team were Xada Johnson of Clear Lake, Reagan Lee from Humboldt, Sawyer Morrical of Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, Olivia Gallentine of Webster City, Lily Hambly from Hampton-Dumont/CAL and Casey VanOtterloo of Algona.

Lursen, a cross country and track standout, was third in scoring for St. Edmond with 139 points. She finished with 198 rebounds, including 108 on the offensive glass, which placed her first in the conference.

“I’m very happy to see Anna get this recognition,” SEHS head coach CJ Tracy said. “She gives it everything she’s got whenever she’s on the floor for us.

“Her rebounding, steals and defense played a big part in what we accomplished this past season.”

Sharar led the NCC in scoring and rebounding with Mann, who became Humboldt’s career points leader during the season, second. Kuhlmann was first in assists and Ennis tops in blocks.


First Team

*Ella Sharar, Iowa Falls-Alden, sr.; *Morgan Mann, Humboldt, jr.; *Lauren McLaughlin, Algona, jr.; Madi Ott, Clear Lake, jr.; Jordan Valley, Hampton-Dumont/CAL, jr.; Ava Fischer, Humboldt, soph.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Elliot Ennis, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, jr.; Kaitlyn Nelson, Humboldt, jr.; Brooklyn Valley, Hampton-Dumont/CAL, jr.; Josie Johnson, Iowa Falls-Alden, soph.; Hayden Kuhlmann, Algona, fr.; Hayden McLaughlin, Algona, fr.

Third Team

Xada Johnson, Clear Lake, sr.; Reagan Lee, Humboldt, sr.; Sawyer Morrical, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, sr.; Olivia Gallentine, Webster City, jr.; Lily Hambly, Hampton-Dumont/CAL, jr.; Casey VanOtterloo, Algona, jr.; Anna Lursen, St. Edmond, soph.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today