73rd FD Amateur ready for action

All three defending champs back in the field at the FDCC

Messenger photo by Eric Pratt 2019 Fort Dodge Amateur golf tournament champions (left to right): Joe Bates, Jim Campbell and Andrew Huseman will all be back to defend their titles this weekend.

It’s been a very unusual start to the golf season, but one of the state’s oldest amateur tournaments will bring a sense of normalcy back to the Fort Dodge Country Club over the next three days.

The 73rd Fort Dodge Amateur begins play at 8 a.m. Friday, with nearly 100 participants set to participate. Defending champions Andrew Huseman (open division), Joe Bates (senior) and Jim Campbell (super senior) are all entered to play.

Huseman, the son of local chiropractor Bill Huseman and grandson of Hall of Fame Fort Dodge coach and athletic director Dutch Huseman, carded an eight-under par 205 to post a five-stroke victory a year ago. It was the first FD Am title for the now 25-year-old Ankeny Centennial graduate.

Huseman played golf collegiately at Indian Hills Community College and Arkansas State University. He will tee off at 11:48 a.m. on Friday with 2010 and ’11 champ Kevin Ault, Charlie West and Zachary LaBarr.

Defending Webster County and Lakeside Amateur titleist Austin Morrow, a Fort Dodge Senior High graduate, starts at 10:36 a.m. on Friday. Former city champs Eddie Doyle, Lucas Peed and Ryan Reeder are in the open field.

Bates and Campbell, both from Albia, will be in the same foursome at 12:12 p.m. They are paired with Jim Wynn and Curtis Anderson.

A year ago, Bates fired rounds of 70, 70 and 73 for his second senior crown in three tries. Campbell unseated Fort Dodge lawyer Dave Sergeant — a six-time FD Am winner — on the super senior side.

Sergeant and 2009 FD Am senior gold medalist Tom Schill are slated to compete, along with four-time senior winner Joel Yunek, a Lake City High School graduate.

The 18 hole rounds on Friday and Saturday serve as a qualifier for Sunday’s championship action.

High temperatures will be in the upper-80s all three days, with very little wind expected. There is a 40 percent chance of thunderstorms on Friday afternoon.

The Country Club is a par 35-36–71 layout.



8 a.m.

Tony Malizia

Richard Jones

Jim Dalton

Jamie Blackburn

8:12 a.m.

Tim Taylor

Jay Slings

Dave Sergeant

Brian Fell

8:24 a.m.

Jay Hickman

Harold Hickman

Russell Johnson

Wes Hogeland

8:36 a.m.

Mark Urbanek

Joe Urbanek

Jared Tigges

Bret Taylor

8:48 a.m.

Ryan Horner

Logan Barnes

Jon Olson

Tyler Sansgaard

9:00 a.m.

Logan Schweinefus

Anthony Emanuel

Ferran Cortilla

Lucas Stedman

9:12 a.m.

Richard Gorbell

Dave Henry

Edwin Evans

Tony Newkirk

9:24 a.m.

Nathaniel McCoy

Danny McCoy

Mike Rundle

Manning Lane

9:36 a.m.

Randall Barbee

Tony Lawler

Jeffery Panek

Michael Erickson

9:48 a.m.

Cole Jaeschke

Cody Jaeschke

Eddie Doyle

Niel Doak

10:00 a.m.

Ryan Reeder

Lucas Peed

Ned Palmer

Randy Stults

10:12 a.m.

Connor Power

Chasen Selsor

Steve Eddie

Terry Miller

10:24 a.m.

Sterling McIlravy

Tyler Bussert

Jordan Lester

Jason Eaton

10:36 a.m.

Austin Morrow

Drew Hansen

Mike Purcell

Bob Hartzler

10:48 a.m.

Kyle Raines

Brad Mickelson

David Pratt

Aaron Ahrendsen

11 a.m.

Ethan Mechling

Jared Gillespie

Kirk Macumber

Levi Slings

11:12 a.m.

Terry Cook

David Studer

Tom Schill

Rod Peterson

11:24 a.m.

Tom Christensen

Joel Yunek

Del Harken

Randy Studer, Sr.

11:36 a.m.

Dave Gaer

Ron Peterson

Daryl Short

Brian Persson

11:48 a.m.

Kevin Ault

Andrew Huseman

Charlie West

Zachary LaBarr

12:00 p.m.

Austin Reynolds

Brian Allison

Carson Caylor

Hogan Hansen

12:12 p.m.

Jim Wynn

Joe Bates

Jim Campbell

Curtis Anderson


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today