Area players earn all-NCC honors

-Messenger photo by Britt Kudla St. Edmond senior Josie Huss was named to the North Central Conference second team.

The Clarion-Goldfield/Dows volleyball team swept through the North Central Conference this season and the Cowgirls were rewarded with three first team all-league selections.

Morgan Middleton was one of four unanimous conference choices, with teammates Alaina Freisleben and Jadyn Jondle joining her on the first-team.

Humboldt, the league runners-up, had Jori Hajek and Deni McDaniel honored, with Hajek earning unanimous status.

Algona’s Abbey Holmes was selected by all the coaches with Webster City’s Alayna Finucan also earning first team honors.

Clarion-Goldfield/Dows went 7-0 in the league and lost just one set, advancing to the Class 2A state tournament. The Cowgirls won their first-ever state game and reached the 30-win mark for the first time in program history.

Middleton, a junior, led the conference in kills with 151. Freisleben was second in assists with 235 and Jondle finished third in digs with 111.

Hajek was third in serving and fifth in kills per set, while McDaniel led the NCC in assists with 237.

Holmes was eighth overall in kills, second in kills per set and second in digs. Finucan led the league in digs with 177.

Earning second team honors from St. Edmond was Josie Huss. The senior had 61 kills and served at a 97 percent clip this season.



First Team

*Abbey Holmes, Algona, sr., OH; *Jori Hajek, Humboldt, jr., OH; *Morgan Middleton, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, jr., OH; *Jenny Wibholm, Iowa Falls-Alden, jr., OH; Alaina Freisleben, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, jr., S; Jadyn Jondle, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, jr., L; Deni McDaniel, Humboldt, jr., S; Alayna Finucan, Webster City, soph., L.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Josie Huss, St. Edmond, sr., OH; Molly McCauley, Algona, sr., MH; Julia Merfeld, Clear Lake, sr., S; Abby Redmond, Iowa Falls-Alden, sr., S; Adalie Schwandt, Webster City, sr., MH; Carlie Thompson, Humboldt, sr., L; Kendall Lienemann, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, jr., OH; Emily Zaugg, Humboldt, jr., MH.

Third Team

Kameryn Etherington, Algona, sr., DS; Grace Hoversten, Webster City, sr., OH; Tara Krull, Hampton-Dumont, sr., MH; Mady Lange, Humboldt, sr., MH; Hadyn Miller, Iowa Falls-Alden, sr., L; Claire Varangkounh, Humboldt, sr., OH; Delaney Eden, Clear Lake, jr., MH; Lexie Lane, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, fr., MH.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)