Dodgers back on the tee for 2019 golf campaign

Seven letterwinners return to Mericle’s FDSH boys squad

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Isaac Hage is the low scorer and one of nine seniors back for the Fort Dodge golf team this year.

The Fort Dodge boys golf team will continue to focus on consistency this fall, as head coach Mike Mericle welcomes seven letterwinners back to the lineup card for the upcoming season.

Senior Isaac Hage returns as the Dodgers’ top player, along with classmates Gavin Strain, Mason Bowman and Nolan Daniel. Junior Kaleb Anderson and sophomores Andrew Alstott and Peyton Hays were also letterwinners a year ago.

“Going into the offseason, I really stressed the importance of working on their golf game throughout the year — especially during the summer,” Mericle said. “We need to be in mid-season form going into the start of our season. I believe most of these men have done so, but we can always continue to improve every day.”

Mericle has 27 players on his roster, including nine seniors. He is also encouraged by a group of 17 underclassmen.

“It’s important for our seniors to lead by example — especially with this many,” Mericle said. “Golf is a very humbling sport, so for them to help our younger guys out is going to be big for them and the program as a whole.”

Hage averaged 45.3 per nine holes last fall, with Strain, Alstott, Daniel, Anderson, Bowman also participated in most of FDSH’s meets.

“We showed some promise last year during the district meet in Sioux City; I believe the boys started to believe in themselves and that they can compete with other teams,” Mericle said. “To get even a little bit of confidence in golf goes a long way.

“We’re looking to continue to improve on their swings and short game every day.”

The Dodgers face Southeast Polk in an 18-hole JV/varsity dual on Monday at the Fort Dodge Country Club. The annual Phil Joselyn Invitational is at the FDCC on Sept. 3.

Fort Dodge also hosts the CIML Iowa Conference meet on Oct. 2.



Seniors — Mason Bowman, Konnor Nichols, Dylan Peterman, Isaac Hage, Calvin Gibson, Gavin Strain, Tyler Young, Nolan Daniel, Jacob Miller.

Junior — Kaleb Anderson.

Sophomores — Peyton Hays, Jordan Lennon, Andrew Alstott, Logan McIlrath, Aidan Porter, Calvin Lyon, Carson Kahler, Aiden Heistand, Alex Dohrn.

Freshmen — Mike Miller, Aaron Amhof, Keaton Nichols, Kade Nielsen, Kurtis Bickford, Nathan Beekman, Fisher Novencido, Wyatt Weiss.


Aug. 19 — Southeast Polk; 21 — at Waukee; 26 — Mason City Invitational.

Sept. 3 — Phil Joselyn Invitational at the FDCC; 10 — at Marshalltown; 11 — Ankeny Invitational; 19 — at West Des Moines Valley; 20 — Marshalltown Invitational; 23 — at Indianola; 24 — Mason City.

Oct. 2 — CIML Iowa Conference meet at the FDCC.