On the tee: County golf tourney tees off Saturday

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla 2018 Webster County golf winners (left to right): Randy Stults, Delaney Conrad, Ryan Reeder and Roxanne Kuhlman stand with The Messenger’s Cory Bargfrede (far left) and Fort Dodge Ford Lincoln Toyota’s Matt Johnson (far right).

Webster County golfers will hit the links this weekend at the Fort Dodge Country Club and Lakeside for the 39th annual Fort Dodge Ford Lincoln Toyota tournament, presented by The Messenger.

Defending champion Ryan Reeder (men’s open division), Randy Stults (men’s senior), Delaney Conrad (women’s open) and Roxanne Kuhlman (women’s senior) headline the field of over 110 golfers.

The women tee off in the morning at the Fort Dodge Country Club and the men will start at Lakeside. The men and women will switch courses on Sunday.

Men’s tee times start at 8:06 a.m. and minutes after until the final pairing starts at 11:56 a.m. The women will begin tee times at 8 a.m.

The championship nine will be on Sunday evening at approximately 6 p.m., taking the Top-16 scores from the open division and the Top-12 in the senior bracket.

There will be a closest to the pin on all par-3s at both courses on Saturday, sponsored by Justin Faiferlick and Faiferlick Martial Arts.

Fort Dodge Ford Lincoln Toyota has also contributed $1,000 in additional prize money to distribute among flight winners.

In addition to the defending champs, former city titlists Eddie Doyle, Austin Morrow, Lucas Peed, Jim Dalton, Terry Miller, Kelsey Felch, and Peg Christensen are also entered into their respective divisions.

Reeder won his first ever county title by shooting a 174 (70-70–34), topping Robert Flattery by one stroke (72-69–34). Austin Morrow (179), Cory Cummins (183) and Devin Gallentine (184) rounded out the top five.

On the men’s senior division side, Randy Stults won the title with a 176 (70-71–35). Steve Schmidt (184), Ron Cummins (185), Terry Miller (186) and Steve Huss (187) followed.

Conrad, a Southeast Valley senior-to-be, won her first title, shooting a 155 (71-84). Sam Kuhn (158) was second, followed by Felch (16), Jaime Plane (164) and Deann Faiferlick (179).

Kuhlman (163) won the senior division crown and Dee Cummins (164) was second.