FD’s Jackson all-CIML Iowa

Kershaw, Peterson also recognized

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Jordan Jackson of Fort Dodge shoots in the Dodger gym during the regular season.

Jordan Jackson stepped into the role of leader for the Fort Dodge boys this past winter, and the CIML Iowa Conference took note.

Jackson, a senior, was voted to the all-CIML Iowa first team unanimously by the coaches. He was one of six members of the seven-player squad to earn such an honor.

Waukee’s Noah Hart and Dylan Jones, West Des Moines Valley’s Evan Obia and Trayvon Williams, and Southeast Polk’s Sam Glenn were also unanimous selections, with Marshalltown’s Jacob Smith completing the team.

Jackson, a three-year starter for FDSH, led the team at 15.2 points per game and 5.8 rebounds. He knocked down 122 field goals and shot almost 79 percent from the free throw line.

“It’s an honor to be named all conference,” Jackson said. “It shows all the work we put in during the spring, summer and fall is paying off. It’s nice to have the respect from the other coaches in the conference for them to vote me on first team unanimously.”

Jackson finished his career ranked 14th on the school’s all-time scoring chart. He also had 25 assists, 18 steals and 10 blocks this season.

“I’ve been blessed to represent this great community for the last four years,” Jackson said. “I wouldn’t trade the memories and relationships I made playing for Fort Dodge for the world.”

Dodger Tysen Kershaw made the second team. The junior was second on the team in scoring at 11 points per game, knocking down a team-high 22 three-pointers. He led the Dodgers with 76 assists, 47 steals and 22 blocks, shooting 41 percent from the field with 88 rebounds.

FDSH’s Jace Peterson, a senior, was an honorable mention selection. He posted 9.3 points per game with 89 rebounds, 63 assists and 17 steals. He shot 41 percent from the floor and made 63 of 93 free throw attempts.

Waukee won the league title, going a perfect 10-0. Valley was second with Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Mason City and Southeast Polk all finishing in a tie.

The Dodgers were 8-14 overall.


First Team

*Sam Glenn, Southeast Polk, sr.; *Noah Hart, Waukee, sr.; *Jordan Jackson, Fort Dodge, sr.; *Dylan Jones, Waukee, sr.; *Evan Obia, WDM Valley, sr.; Jacob Smith, Marshalltown, sr.; *Trayvon Williams, Marshalltown, sr.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Will Berg, WDM Valley, jr.; Aguek Deng, WDM Valley, sr.; Tucker DeVries, Waukee, soph.; Tysen Kershaw, Fort Dodge, jr.; Dylan Miller, Mason City, sr.; Jeffrey Skogen, Mason City, jr.; Michael Vicente, Waukee, sr.

Honorable Mention

Fort Dodge — Jace Peterson, sr.