Clayton slated on men’s first team

-Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Fort Dodge graduate Solomon Clayton slam dunk against Iowa Central inside Hodges Fieldhouse

Iowa Central’s Royshawn Webb and Solomon Clayton of Iowa Lakes capped their junior college careers with first team all-region honors, the league announced recently.

Webb and Clayton, both sophomores, were two of 10 players placed on the first-team.

Dallas Bailey, also a sophomore for the Tritons, earned second team status.

Webb started all 31 games in the final season for Iowa Central head coach Dennis Pilcher, averaging 15.2 points and almost six rebounds a night. He shot 50 percent from the field, 32 percent from the 3-point line and dished out 75 assists with 19 steals.

“Making first team all-region means a lot to me,” Webb said. “I put in the time and work to get to this point, but i want to also thank my teammates and coaches for helping me get to this point as well.”

Over his two seasons for the Tritons, Webb accounted for 838 points, which places him 26th on the school’s career list. His 376 rebounds are eighth-most.

Clayton, a 6-foot-6 Fort Dodge Senior High graduate, ranked 21st in the nation with 272 rebounds this year, averaging 8.5 per game. He shot 60 percent from the field and averaged 14 points per game.

“It means a lot (after receiving honorable mention as a freshman,” said Clayton, who was reunited with his brother, Malcolm, this past season. “It just shows all the hard work paid off.”

In two seasons with the Lakers, Clayton started 61 of 62 games, scoring 779 points with 489 rebounds, 87 assists, 65 steals and 64 blocks. He shot just under 59 percent from the field.

Bailey left his name all over the Triton history books, as he ranks third in career rebounds (446), fifth in assists (169), fourth in made 3-pointers (151), ninth in steals (58) and 27th in total points (837).

He also had two of the Top-10 single-game rebound totals at 18 and 17.

NIACC’s Mark Mohl earned coach of the year with Kirkwood’s Douglas Wilson claiming player of the year honors.



First Team

Tray Buchanan, DMACC, soph.; Royshawn Webb, Iowa Central, soph.; Kevin Jennings, Iowa Lakes, fr.; Solomon Clayton, Iowa Lakes, soph.; Allante Pickens, Kirkwood, soph.; Douglas Wilson, Kirkwood, soph.; Deundra Roberson, NIACC, fr.; Quentin Hardrict, NIACC, fr.

Second Team

Deshawn Davidson, DMACC, soph.; Dyllan Robinson, DMACC, soph.; LJ Harris, Ellsworth, soph.; Dallas Bailey, Iowa Central, soph.; Luke Appel, Kirkwood, fr.; Wendell Matthews, NIACC, fr.; James Harris, NIACC, fr.; Ryan Warren, Southwestern, soph.

Honorable Mention

DeVonta Prince, DMACC, soph.; Quinton Taylor, DMACC, soph.; Equan Ards, Iowa Lakes, soph.; Boston Grimes, Iowa Lakes, fr.; Devonte Thedford, Kirkwood, fr.; Connor Kasperbauer, Kirkwood, rfr.; Donte Innocent, Little Priest, fr.; Gatodar Kueth, Southwestern, soph.