East Sac County’s Bruce recognized

Garret Bruce earned Class 1A, District 9 Offensive Player of the Year honors, the league announced recently.

Bruce, a senior from East Sac County, ran for a 1A-best 1,766 yards this season, scoring 19 touchdowns. Five different times he went over the 200-yard mark, including a high of 281 vs. Cherokee.

“Earning offensive player of the year for our district means a lot to me,” Bruce said. “It’s been a goal of mine to accomplish since last season. I give credit to the guys up front because I would not be able to achieve any of my personal goals without them.”

One of those was Brandyn Clair, who picked up lineman of the year honors by the district. Clair, Quintin Ludwig and Nick Gerdes were all first team selections for the Raiders, with Mason Drost, Reece Potthoff and Derek Aschinger all making second-team.

Bruce finished his senior season with five games over 200 yards rushing and four more over 100. He finished his high school career with 2,950 yards on 509 carries, scoring 34 touchdowns.

“I’m a little disappointed in the way our season went because I believed that we had the talent and potential to win our district and make the playoffs,” Bruce said. “It was a tough pill to swallow not making it, but we did do a lot of great things throughout the year to be proud of. And at the end of the day, it’s more than just wins and losses.

“Personally, I achieved more than I thought I would going into the year.”

East Sac County finished 5-4 overall and tied with Underwood and Missouri Valley at 3-2 in the district behind Treynor.



First Team

East Sac County — Garret Bruce, sr.; Brandyn Clair, sr.; Quintin Ludwig, jr.; Nick Gerdes, jr.

Treynor — Kyle Christensen, sr.; Jake Fisher, jr.; Chase Reber, jr.; Will Halverson, jr.; Austin Kulesa, sr.; Brock Fox, jr.

Underwood — Nick Ravlin, jr.; Jalen Humphrey, sr.; Connor Ryan, sr.; Kyler Rodenburg, sr.

Missouri Valley — Duke Kyle, sr.; Connor Lange, sr.; Nick Haynes, jr.; Arron Olson, sr.

Cherokee — Mason Goebel, sr.; Trevor Lundquist, jr.; Alex Paulsrud, jr.

MVAOCOU — Bryce Kafton, sr.; Haden Kuhl, sr.

Second Team

East Sac County — Mason Drost, sr.; Reece Potthoff, jr.; Derek Aschinger, jr.

Offensive Player of the Year — Garret Bruce, East Sac County.

Defensive Player of the Year — Kyle Christensen, Treynor.

Special Teams Player of the Year — Luke Mieska, Treynor.

Lineman of the Year — Brandyn Clair, East Sac County.

Coach of the Year — Jeff Casey, Treynor.

Punter of the Year — Aaron Michael, MVAOCOU.

Kicker of the Year — Luke Mieska, Treynor.