Seven area players honored

Seven area players were honored by the Iowa Press Sports Writers Association in earning all-state baseball status recently.

Jace Davidson, Max Hackbarth and Trevor Bormann were all earned first team status, with Drake Buscherfeld, Kyler Steinborn, Chase Boeve and Dylan Steen landing on the second team in their classes.

Davidson, a junior at Pocahontas Area, hit .446 with 33 RBI, a .594 slugging percentage, a 17-to-4 walk-to-strikeout ratio, 13 steals, 13 doubles and 29 runs. On the mound, Davidson was 8-1 with 100 strikeouts, 14 walks and a 0.56 earned run average. Opponents hit just .138 off of him in 62-plus innings.

Hackbarth, a Webster City graduate who has signed with Upper Iowa to pitch, had 91 strikeouts in just under 52 innings with a 1.35 earned run average and a 4-2 record. Opponents hit just .127 off of him this summer.

Bormann, a senior from Algona, collected 48 hits with 34 steals, 28 RBI, six homers, eight doubles and three triples. He worked 19 walks, struck out just 18 times, hit .457 and had a .762 slugging percentage to go along with a .543 on-base.

Buscherfeld, who will play football at Wartburg College in the fall after a standout career with Bishop Garrigan, went 6-2 on the mound with 69 strikeouts. He hit .388 with 30 RBI and 13 doubles at the plate.

Steinborn, a South Central Calhoun grad headed to Cornell College, posted a 7-1 record on the hill and struck out 100 with a 0.78 earned run average. Opponents hit just .111 off him in 53-plus innings.

At the plate, Steinborn hit .361 with a .500 slugging percentage, 16 RBI and two homers.

Boeve, a Pocahontas Area senior, batted .398 with 35 steals, a 14-to-2 walk-to-strikeout ratio, 28 RBI and eight doubles.

Steen, a Webster City junior, batted .419 with nine steals, 29 RBI, 10 walks, and 31 hits. He was a perfect 8-0 on the mound with 84 strikeouts and a 1.70 earned run average, as opponents hit only .139 vs. him.

Urbandale’s Luke Llewellyn in 4A, Solon’s Luke Ira in 3A, Jade Snyder of West Lyon in 2A and Brady Gavin from Martensdale-St. Mary’s in 1A were named their respective classes player of the year.

St. Edmond senior Jake Szalat was selected to the All-State Academic second team.

Jake Szalat from St. Edmond and Isaac Thurm of Humboldt were both named academic all-state by the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association. Thurm made the first team and Szalat the second.


Class 1A

Second Team

Drake Buscherfeld, Bishop Garrigan, sr., U.

Class 2A

First Team

Jace Davidson, Pocahontas Area, jr., U.

Second Team

Kyler Steinborn, South Central Calhoun, sr., P; Chase Boeve, Pocahontas Area, sr., OF.

Class 3A

First Team

Max Hackbarth, Webster City, sr., P; Trevor Bormann, Algona, sr., OF.

Second Team

Dylan Steen, Webster City, jr., U.