Area players named to all-district baseball team

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Drake Miller of Fort Dodge was named a first team all-district selection for Class 4A.

Four local and 21 more from the area were honored recently by the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association as all-district selections recently.

Shane Halligan and Drake Miller were both named to the Class 4A North Central second team from Fort Dodge, with St. Edmond’s Jake Szalat and Jack McEvoy tabbed in 1A for the Central.

In 3A, Webster City’s Max Hackbarth, Romel Martinez and Dylan Steen were all named, along with Algona’s Collin Sexton, Grant Goche and Trevor Bormann, and Humboldt’s Isaac Thurm.

Kyler Steinborn of South Central Calhoun and Jace Davidson of Pocahontas Area tabbed to 2A teams, with Bishop Garrigan’s Drake Buscherfeld and Drew Bacha, along with Newell-Fonda’s Jesse Haack and Nate Pedersen, all earning 1A honors.

Miller, a junior, led the Dodgers with a .400 batting average, driving in a team-high 36 with 24 walks against just 18 strikeouts. He also hit five homers and 10 doubles, had six steals, posted a 5-1 record on the mound and had a .978 fielding percentage.

Halligan, a sophomore, hit .333 with 30 RBI, 18 walks, five homers and nine doubles. He also sported a .981 fielding percentage and threw out seven would-be baserunners.

Szalat, a senior, had a team-high .348 batting average for the Gaels, drawing 23 walks and striking out just four times for a .590 on-base percentage. He was also 7-1 on the mound with 58 strikeouts and a 1.04 earned run average.

McEvoy, a junior, drove in 14 runs with 16 hits and 12 walks, sporting a .493 on-base. He also had a .979 fielding percentage and caught four baserunners.

Hackbarth, who is headed to Upper Iowa University, was 4-2 over his senior season with 91 strikeouts in just under 52 innings and a 1.35 earned run average. Martinez hit .408 with 11 RBI, 12 steals and 12 extra-base hits.

Steen, a junior, was 8-0 with 84 strikeouts and a 1.70 earned run average. He also hit a team-high .419 with 29 RBI, nine steals and five extra-base hits.

Bormann hit a team-leading .457 with a .762 slugging percentage, 28 RBI, 34 steals in 34 attempts and six homers. Goche hit .380, drove in 27 and had three wins on the mound. Sexton had 13 doubles, 34 RBI and drew 25 walks.

Thurm batted .376 with 31 walks, 28 RBI and 10 extra-base hits. He also gunned down 16 would-be base-stealers and had a .970 fielding percentage.

Steinborn was 7-1 on the mound with 100 strikeouts in 53-plus innings and a 0.78 earned run average. The Cornell College recruit also hit .361 with 16 RBI and six extra-base hits. Davidson went 8-1 on the mound, struck out 100, had a 0.56 earned run average and hit .446 with 33 RBI, a 17-to-4 walk-to-strikeout ratio and 13 steals.

Buscherfeld, who will play football for Wartburg University, went 6-2 on the mound with 69 strikeouts, while also hitting .388 with 13 doubles, 30 RBI and 13 steals. Bacha hit .400 with 14 steals, 20 walks, 26 RBI and 33 runs scored.

Pedersen led the Mustangs with 35 RBI, had 12 steals, nine doubles, four triples and 41 hits. Haack went 6-2 on the mound with 49 strikeouts and also had 11 extra-base hits with 17 RBI.

Named to the second team were Humboldt’s Reese DeWinter and Algona’s Carson Devine in 3A; Nolan Johnson of Southeast Valley, Nick Schany from Emmetsburg and Chase Boeve of Pocahontas Area in 2A; and North Union’s Blake Crawmer, Newell-Fonda’s RJ Rojas and Bishop Garrigan’s Alex Mammen in 1A.


Class 4A

North Central

Second Team

Shane Halligan, Fort Dodge, soph., C; Drake Miller, Fort Dodge, jr., U.

Class 3A


First Team

Max Hackbarth, Webster City, sr., P; Romel Martinez, Webster City, sr., SS; Dylan Steen, Webster City, jr., U.


First Team

Isaac Thurm, Humboldt, sr., C; Collin Sexton, Algona, sr., 1B; Grant Goche, Algona, sr., 2B; Trevor Bormann, Algona, sr., OF.

Second Team

Reese DeWinter, Humboldt, sr., 3B; Carson Devine, Algona, jr., OF.

Class 2A


First Team

Kyler Steinborn, South Central Calhoun, P, sr.; Jace Davidson, Pocahontas Area, 1B, jr.

Second Team

Nolan Johnson, Southeast Valley, sr., P; Nick Schany, Emmetsburg, jr., C; Chase Boeve, Pocahontas Area, sr., OF.

Class 1A


First Team

Drake Buscherfeld, Bishop Garrigan, sr., 1B; Jesse Haack, Newell-Fonda, sr., U; Nate Pedersen, Newell-Fonda, sr., U; Drew Bacha, Bishop Garrigan, sr., U.

Second Team

Blake Crawmer, North Union, sr., C; RJ Rojas, Newell-Fonda, jr., SS; Alex Mammen, Bishop Garrigan, soph., U.


First Team

Jake Szalat, St. Edmond, sr., P.

Second Team

Jack McEvoy, St. Edmond, jr., C.