Deal wins again at Sports Park Raceway

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Jason Hahne of Webster City competes at Sports Park Raceway in Fort Dodge.

Champions were again crowned in six feature races at Sports Park Raceway last weekend.

Fort Dodge’s Bryce Sommerfeld was victorious in the Hobby Stock A-feature. Sommerfeld held off Andrew Borchardt and Myles Michehl of Fort Dodge.

In the Late Models A-feature, Charlie McKenna of Clear Lake topped Ryan Griffith of Webster City. Shane Demey of Denison took the checkered flag in the Modifieds A-feature, besting Tim Ward and Randy Halvick.

Riley Paysen of Wall Lake beat Marshalltown’s John Gill and A.J. Myott of Fort Dodge to win the Sport Compacts A-feature. Webster City’s Brandon Toftee defeated Ty Griffith of Webster City and Tim Judd for the SportMods A-feature race crown.

Fort Dodge’s Lance Deal prevailed in the Stock Cars A-feature competition to remain unbeaten on the year, holding off Tyler Pickett of Boxholm and Churdan’s Jason Minnehan.

Racing continues this Sunday, with gates opening at 4 p.m., hot laps at 5:30, and racing immediately to follow.


Season Point Standings

Hobby Stock — 1. Jeff Fink, 116; 2. Myles Michehl, 111; 3. Bryce Sommerfeld, 110; 4. Ryan Boland, 109; 5. Wade Gilliland, 98.

Late Models — 1. Charlie McKenna, 118; (tie) Ryan Griffith, 118; 3. Todd Johnson, 112; 4. Jenna Johnson, 72; 5. Jason Hahne, 39.

Modifieds — 1. Shane Demey, 117; 2. Chase Ellingson, 103; 3. Jerid Ratzke, 102; 4. Bill Crimmins, 93; (tie) Tristan Vesterby, 93.

Sport Compacts — 1. Riley Paysen, 119; 2. A.J. Myott, 114; 3. John Gill, 112; 4. Lucas Jones, 108; 5. Matt Oberhelman, 107.

SportMods — 1. Rocky Caudle, 112; 2. Jason Bass, 108; (tie) Jon Peed, 108; 4. Ty Griffith, 107; 5. Daniel Tassler, 102.

Stock Cars — 1. Lance Deal, 120; 2. Tyler Pickett, 111; 3. Calvin Lange, 104; 4. Jeff Lyon, 101; (tie) John Wiemann, 101.