Five individuals, one team enshrined in Hall of Fame

Iowa Central honors those who make an impact

Iowa Central Community College has a tradition of honoring those who have made outstanding contributions in the classroom, on the playing fields and in the gym, and in their professional lives.

Every year a handful of such individuals and groups are selected to be enshrined in the Iowa Central Hall of Fame.

The latest honorees were inducted last weekend.

They are:

• Patty Croonquist, former advanced instructor, international student adviser, coordinator of the modern language program and chair of the Iowa Central Festival of Nations.

• Denny Drake, a member of the Iowa Central Class of 1971 who is senior vice president of corporate integrity and general counsel for UnityPoint Health.

• Jeff Harris, a member of the Iowa Central Class of 1975 who was a music teacher who had 400 students win All State Honors.

• Hailey Haupts, Academic All American and standout volleyball and softball player from 2006 to 2008.

• Troy Middleton, a first team All American linebacker in 1972 and 1973.

• Dennis Plicher, former head basketball coach and athletic director, who won 759 games during 40 seasons at Iowa Central.

• The 1982 men’s basketball team that went 28-4, losing in the finals.

The individual honorees made an impact on the world around them, and continue to do so. While the basketball team’s achievements are in the record books, the dedication to excellence exhibited by the team members then still guides them in their endeavors today.

We congratulate all of the new members of the Iowa Central Hall of Fame.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today