Iowa Central honors dental hygiene grads

-Photo courtesy of Iowa Central Community College
Iowa Central Community College held its pinning ceremony for Dental Hygiene Program graduates recently at Willow Ridge in Fort Dodge.

Iowa Central Community College held its pinning ceremony for Dental Hygiene Program graduates recently at Willow Ridge in Fort Dodge.

Renee Piper, Dental Hygiene Program director, gave the welcome and congratulated the graduates on being an outstanding class.

“Every class is special,” said Piper. “This class’ willingness to work as a team was a great thing. You all worked together so well.”

Class President Abby Melohn and Valedictorian Emily Rooney were student speakers.

“When we started, we never imagined how many hours of papers and homework there would be,” said Melohn. “Our hard work and even our failures have readied us for the dental hygiene field. It has been worth the effort, tears, and enjoyment.”

Melohn also highlighted memorable times the class shared together such as Children’s Dental Hygiene Month, spending a day lobbying at the state Capitol, volunteering at IMOM and celebrating each other’s achievements at Night of Excellence.

“As each of us celebrates our success, we should also be proud of our hard work and dedication to patient care, our adventure begins now,” Melohn said.

Rooney shared her memories of the fun the class shared together, along with their achievements, challenges, and trials.

“Our hard work has paid off,” said Rooney. “The only people who truly understand the trials of dental hygiene school are those who are in it and our families. We lived and breathed it, but we made it and are ready to have fun and fulfilling careers. Here’s to us, we are finally dental hygienists.”

Dental Hygiene instructors Renee Piper, Arianna Broderick and Jodi Major presented awards to the graduates.

Award recipients included Abby Melohn, Future Healthcare Hygienist, Infection Control Coordinator; Morgan Hemann, Outstanding Student for Iowa Award, Infection Control Coordinator; Erin Irlmeier, Lavender Ribbon Award; Kira Albright, Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler Award; Emily Rooney, Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition (STAR) Award; Gabirelle Cadwell, Student’s Choice Award; Kayla York, Northwest District Dental Society Iowa Dental Association Award, Infection Control Coordinator; Savanna Wheeler, Infection Control Coordinator; Makenna Hoffman, Infection Control Coordinator; Nicole Miller, Infection Control Coordinator.

Instructors presented each graduate with their Dental Hygiene pin and the graduates recited the Dental Hygiene Oath, led by Adjunct Instructors Emma Degner and Maranda Geerdes.

Dental Hygiene Graduates and hometowns are: Abigail Hersom, Altoona; Kira Albright, Fort Dodge; Alexis Erickson, Fort Dodge; Alexis Mayall, Humboldt; Abby Melohn, Kanawha; Erin Irlmeier, Kimballton; Peyton Riley, Lytton; Gabrielle Cadwell, Manilla; Jenna Maggert, Matlock; Casandra Barba-Lockey, Milford; Magley Orellana, Perry; Morgan Hemann, Saint Ansgar; Emily Rooney, Sheffield; Shelbie Bennett, Woolstock.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today