Outgoing Fort Dodge School Board members honored

The three outgoing members of the Fort Dodge Community School District Board of Education were honored at their last meeting on Monday night.

Outgoing members Bill Kent, Angie Tracy and Matt Moritz were each presented with a school bell, a long-standing tradition of the district.

“These three individuals have been exceptional not only in their willingness to serve and their participation and their engagement with the board,” said Board President Stu Cochrane. “These are people we are going to so sorely miss.”

Tracy and Moritz both opted to step down at the end of their terms on the board and did not seek reelection this fall. Kent, who served on the board for 17 years, was on the Nov. 7 ballot but ultimately was not reelected.

Tracy served two terms on the board, being first elected in September 2015. Moritz was initially appointed to the board in May 2020, following the passing of board member Steve Springer. In September 2020, the district voters elected Moritz to serve out the rest of Springer’s term, ending this fall.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today