9 running for Fort Dodge School Board

The Fort Dodge Community School District Board of Education will have at least two new members after the Nov. 7 election.

The deadline to file nomination papers for the School Board election was Thursday. By the deadline, nine candidates had entered the race.

Seats currently filled by Angie Tracy, Bill Kent, Diane Pratt, Matt Moritz and Dan Altman will be on the ballot.

New candidates for School Board include Brian Pederson, Keenan Schuur, Teri Townsend, Allison Roderick, Sara Sankey and Emily Dencklau.

Pratt and Kent are running for re-election to another four-year term each. Moritz and Tracy did not file for re-election.

Altman is the lone candidate running to fill a vacancy.

He had been appointed to the board in March 2022 to fill a seat that had been vacated by the resignation of board member Dan Hansen. Iowa law requires board vacancy appointments to go through the election process at the next school board election to serve out the remainder of the unexpired term.

Running to fill a vacancy:

• Dan Altman

Running for a full four-year term (four seats available):

• Brian Pederson

• Keenan Schuur

• Teri Townsend

• Allison Roderick

• Sara Sankey

ª Emily Dencklau


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today