Catalyst Award nominations sought

Deadline to submit them is Feb. 18

Calling all business and community leaders in the Fort Dodge area: nominations for the Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance’s Catalyst Award are now open.

“The Catalyst Award is given out annually at the Growth Alliance’s dinner,” explained Jill Nelson, Growth Alliance community development director. “It’s given to a community member that has a long-standing history of community service, pride and spirit, but also has shown excellence in their career.”

Community and business leaders are nominated for the accolade.

Nominations are due by noon on Feb. 18. Nomination packets can be found on the Growth Alliance’s website, www.greaterfortdodge.com.

Nominees must be a member of the Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance or employed by a member business.

“They must have shown active involvement in the Growth Alliance throughout the years, and they must be an active, visible leader in the community, really focusing on the economic and civic environment,” Nelson said. “They must have consistently demonstrated excellence in their place of business and they must have contributed exemplary time and effort to promote community pride and service.”

Nelson recommends those interested in nominating an individual for the award not wait until the deadline to fill out the nomination form.

An award committee will review the nominations and select a winner to be awarded at the Growth Alliance’s annual dinner, which will be March 3 at Fort Frenzy. Other details about the dinner are still being finalized.

What is now known as the Catalyst Award originated as the Athena Award in 1986, presented by the former Fort Dodge Area Chamber of Commerce. It became the Catalyst Award in 1997.

“It’s been a long tradition of the Growth Alliance and formerly the Chamber of Commerce to honor these high-achieving individuals and community members,” Nelson said.

Previous winners of the Catalyst Award include local eye doctor and Fort Dodge City Councilman Terry Moehnke, former Webster County Supervisor Bob Singer and car dealership owner Bruce Shimkat. The late business owner and former School Board president Norma Schmoker was the first Athena Award winner in 1986.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today