FDSH advances 40 individual performances to State Individual Speech Contest March 11

Fort Dodge Senior High students competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association District Individual Speech Contest held Feb. 25. The team received 40 Division I ratings, advancing those performances on to the State Individual Speech Contest scheduled for March 11 at Fort Dodge Senior High.

“We had a whopping 60 competitors at the Individual District Contest this year,” said Lindey Krug,

FDSH speech coach. “Our students performed extremely well and I am very pleased with our results.”

Receiving Varsity Division I ratings at District and qualifying for State were:

n Brayden Schmieder — Acting — “The Guest”

n Evan Pratt — Acting — “Grounded”

n Hope Miller — Acting — “The Broken Doll”

n Michael Wagner — After Dinner Speaking — “The Michael Club”

n Sol Birkey — After Dinner Speaking — “Global Child Prodigy Awards”

n Gabby Schumacher — Literature Program — “Forgetfully Yours”

n Chloe Balm — Literature Program — “Aren’t Boys Awful”

n Chris Hulsebus — Literature Program — “I am Becoming My Mother”

n Amelia Rake — Original Oratory — “Freedom Is Pink”

n Abbi Casciato – Original Oratory — “Focusing on Adapting for ADHD”

n Ashlyn Headlee –Poetry — “Degrees of Sadness”

n Ella Champagne — Poetry — “I Want to Be”

n Aaron Amhof – Prose — “The Sniper”

n Sydney Gebers –Prose — “The Disturbed”

n Lexie McHone — Public Address — “Mother Theresa’s Nobel Peace Prize Acceptance”

n Camden Doster –Radio News Announcing

n Katie Dawson — Radio News Announcing

n Sarah Ramthun — Radio News Announcing

n Abraham Fisher –Reviewing — “Game–Making”

n Katie Rodamaker –Reviewing — “Twilight Romance”

n Lilly Johnson — Solo Improvisation

n Mike Miller — Solo Improvisation

n Grace Casciato — Solo Musical Theatre — “Burn”

n Aaron Amhof — Solo Musical Theatre — “I Believe”

n Mikeal Campbell –Solo Musical Theatre — “Good–Bye”

n Michael Koch — Spontaneous Speaking

n Amelia Rake — Spontaneous Speaking

n Sol Birkey — Storytelling — “The Three Little Dinosaurs”

Receiving Junior Varsity Division I ratings and qualifying for State were:

n Emma Connelly — Acting — “A Day to Remember”

n Simeon Roberts — Acting — “Any Junior’s Nightmare”

n Reyna Prado — Expository Address — “The Hero’s Journey Through Dante’s Inferno”

n Aurora Johnson — Poetry — “Curfew Must Not Ring Tonight”

n Owen Hamlow — Poetry — “Honey and Salt”

n Jordan Larrabee –Solo Improvisation


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today