Students perform at district piano auditions

38 students, 7 piano teachers involved in IMTA?auditions

Thirty-eight area piano students, involving seven piano teachers, participated in the Iowa Music Teachers Association district pre-college piano auditions on Feb. 1, held at St. Olaf Lutheran Church in Fort Dodge.

Students are grouped into levels according to age.

In each level, a winner is selected to advance to the state auditions, which will be held on March 14 at Iowa State University. An alternate to state is selected in each level in the event the winner is not able to participate.

In addition to performing three or four memorized piano solos from the categories of Baroque, Classical/Romantic, and Contemporary, students also take a theory and ear training test. Receiving a 90 percent or above places a student on the Theory Honor Roll.

Level A (up to age 9) winner was Yulah Kim, Fort Dodge (Mavis Chen, teacher). Alternate in this level was Adeline Schleisman, Carroll (Deborah Ausborn, teacher). An Honorable Mention was given to Nick Utley, Fort Dodge (Jan Altemeier, teacher).

Level B (ages 10-11) winner was Madelyn Farley, Gowrie (Linda Benson, teacher); alternate was Wooin Kim, Fort Dodge (Chen). An Honorable Mention was given to Maxwell Manternach, Sac City (Ausborn).

Level C (ages 12-13) winner was Sydney Oswald, Webster City (Jeannie Vande Zande, teacher). Alternate was Hongah Kim, Fort Dodge (Chen). Honorable Mentions in this level were given to Jordan Kahl, Humboldt (Denise Naeve, teacher) and Carter Anderson, Fort Dodge (Chen).

Level D (ages 14-15) winner was Elizabeth Greenfield, Ames, formerly of Humboldt (Naeve), and alternate was Jayden Gardipee, Gowrie (Benson). An Honorable Mention was given to John Sorenson, Humboldt (Mary Goetsch, teacher).

Level E (ages 16-17) winner was Mary Greenfield, Ames, formerly of Humboldt (Naeve). Alternate at this level was Clay Willadsen, Webster City (Vande Zande). An Honorable Mention was given to Ethan Long, Gowrie (Benson).

Level F winner was Nathan Rethwisch, Fort Dodge (Altemeier).

The following students made the Theory Honor Roll. A level: Logan Binkley, Gowrie (Benson); Hayun Park, Fort Dodge (Chen); Yulah Kim, and Adeline Schleisman. B Level: Wooin Kim, Aidan Russell, Fort Dodge (Chen); Joel Schroeder, Gowrie (Benson); Taylor Willardson, Gowrie (Benson), and Madelyn Farley. C Level: Jordan Kahl, Carter Anderson, Hongah Kim, Sydney Oswald, Lacey Larson, Fort Dodge (Altemeier); Luke Royster, Webster City, (Vande Zande); and Ava Binkley, Gowrie (Benson). D Level: Jayden Gardipee and Carly Appel, Webster City (Vande Zande). F Level: Nathan Rethwisch.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today