Four area students honored by governor

Four area students were recently honored by Gov. Kim Reynolds and Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg for their academic accomplishments.

Those students are Emily Asay, from Fort Dodge Senior High School; Savannah Michalski, from Manson Northwest Webster High School; Anthony Wagner, from Fort Dodge Senior High School; and Michelle Waller, from St. Edmond High School.

They were recognized during the 17th annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony on April 28 at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines.

The event was sponsored by the Governor’s Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association and the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.

A total of 424 high school seniors were honored.

Each high school was invited to select a senior student with the highest academic ranking based on grade-point average for their first seven semesters.

”The principles learned through academic success, like those learned from participation in education-based activities, help develop outstanding leaders and citizens,” Alan Beste, the executive director of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, said in a written statement.