Area students perform at district piano auditions

Thirty area piano students, involving six piano teachers, participated in the Iowa Music Teachers Association district pre-college piano auditions on Feb. 2 held at St. Olaf Lutheran Church, Fort Dodge. Students are grouped into levels according to age. In each level, a winner is selected to advance to the state auditions, which will be held on March 9 at Wartburg College. An alternate to state is selected in each level in the event the winner is not able to participate. In addition to performing 3 or 4 memorized piano solos from the categories of Baroque, Classical/Romantic and Contemporary, students also take a theory and ear training test. Receiving a 90 percent or above places a student on the Theory Honor Roll.

Level A (up to age 9) Winner: Ava Mei Campbell, Webster City, (Jeannie Vande Zande, teacher); Alternate: Joel Schroeder, Gowrie (Linda Benson, teacher).

Level B (ages 10-11) Winner: Ellie Lemmenes, Humboldt (Denise Naeve, teacher); Alternate: Madelyn Farley, Gowrie (Benson); Honorable Mentions: Ava Binkley, Gowrie (Benson); Grace Rider, Webster City (Vande Zande); Lacey Larson, Fort Dodge (Jan Altemeier, teacher); Morgan Mayall, Humboldt (Tiffany Mayall, teacher).

Level C (ages 12-13) Winner: Elizabeth Greenfield, Humboldt (Naeve); Alternate: Jordan Kahl, Humboldt (Naeve); Honorable Mentions: Sydney Oswald, Webster City (Vande Zande) and John Sorenson, Humboldt (Mary Goetsch, teacher).

Level D (ages 14-15) Winner: Chloe Mayall, Humboldt (Mayall); Alternate: Mary Greenfield, Humboldt (Naeve); Honorable Mention: Cami Skow, Humboldt (Naeve).

Level E (ages 16-17) Winner: Nathan Rethwisch, Fort Dodge (Altemeier); Alternate: Clay Willadsen, Webster City (Vande Zande).

Level F Winner: Emily Willadsen, Webster City (Vande Zande).

Theory Honor Roll

A Level: Ava Campbell and Joel Schroeder.

B Level: Ava Binkley, Madelyn Farley, Ellie Lemmenes, Grace Rider, Taylor Willardson, Gowrie (Benson), Lacey Larson and Jake Sorenson, Humboldt.

C Level: John Sorenson, Carly Appel, Webster City (Vande Zande), Elizabeth Greenfield, Sydney Oswald, Jordan Kahl and Karch Smith, Fort Dodge (Altemeier).

D Level: Allison Oswald, Webster City (Vande Zande), Jayden Gardipee, Gowrie (Benson), Cami Skow and Chloe Mayall.

E Level: Nathan Rethwisch and Clay Willedsen.

F Level: Emily Willadsen and Tyler Geopfert, Webster City (Vande Zande).