All-district honors for Jaguars, area

The awards have been rolling in for state champion Southeast Valley, and before the Jaguars’ Class 2A state championship run even started, 12 Jaguars were named to the all-District 2 team.

Justin Loseke (MLB), Eli Johnson (FS), Pierce Woodruff (OL), Lathe Muench (RB), Tre Fisher (WR), Harley Bryson (OL), Colton Brant (TE), Aaron Graves (DL) and Kolson Kruse (QB) were all on the first squad.

Graves was named the MVP lineman, and Kruse was the MVP offensive player.

Juniors Ethan Ackerson and Carl Berglund, along with senior Caden Larson, were honorable mention selections.

Southeast Valley defensive coordinator Mark Graves was district assistant coach of the year.

“Coach Graves is remarkable,” said SV head coach Mike Swieter. “The kids believe in him and I believe in him. I have no stress whatsoever with him running the defense.

“He puts so much time and effort into his job and it shows.”

Swieter, who is in his 21st season after stretches at Lakeland and Prairie Valley, was district coach of the year.

“It’s nice to get noticed and show a little love, but it’s all about the (state title) trophy,” Swieter said. “We as a staff do so much work behind the scenes. I have a great staff, with Coach Graves, Coach (Kyle) Johnson, Coach (Mitch) Murphy and Coach (Gary) Balk. It was an honor to be able to coach with my son, Aaron…priceless.”

Loseke, Woodruff, Muench, Fisher, Brant, Graves and Kruse were all-state selections for the IPSWA teams as well.

Johnson, who was also a key receiver for the Jaguars, had 20.5 tackles. On offense, he had 32 catches for 735 yards and 10 TDs.

“This is a well deserving honor for Eli,” Swieter said. “He played JV last year and just had a tremendous season for us. He had the first six points in the semifinals. Kolson had three guys to throw to, and Eli will be our number one guy next year.”

Bryson was a key contributor for Southeast Valley on the lines. Bryson had 26.5 tackles, 15 solo tackles and 5.5 tackles for loss.

“What he has accomplished on the OL and DL as a 180-pounder is unreal,” Swieter said. “It proves how strong he is on the inside.

“He gives his all.”

Berglund had 25.5 tackles on defense and nine catches for 74 yards.

Larson had a huge postseason for the Jaguars, recording an interception and a fumble recovery in the UNI-Dome. On the season, he had 23.5 tackles. Larson also had his first catch of the season, a 38-yard grab in the semifinals.

On the defensive line, Ackerson had 16.5 tackles, nine solos.

“There are so many skill players in our district…that is why he (Berglund) wasn’t a first teamer,” Swieter said. “(Larson) went through all 11 games without a catch and had two in the Dome. All that work paid off for him.

“We did not have (Ackerson) penciled into our varsity lineup at the start of the year. But he put in the work and was very good.”

Pocahontas Area

The Indians landed four players on the Class 2A, District 2 all-district squad.

Gavin Ehn was first team offense, while Keaton Bindel, Caleb Freeburg and Chase Cook were first team defense.

Chase Boysen, Brett Johnson and Alex Selander were honorable mention picks.


The Cowboys had four all-district selections.

Preston Gardner, Jaxon Carpenter and Coday Olson were on the offensive side, while Erick Perez was on defense.

Mack Seaba, Cale Kirstein, Ethan Traub, Danny Chavez, Landon Olson and Garrett Seaba were honorable mention selections.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today