Another split for Triton baseballl

BOONE — A day after splitting with Des Moines Area at home, the Iowa Central baseball team was left with the same result here Saturday vs. the Bears.

The Tritons won the first, 11-10, before DMACC rallied to take the nightcap, 3-2.

Devin Porter paced the Iowa Central (25-16 overall, 13-7 in ICCAC) offense in the opener with two doubles and three RBI, with Nathin Mortimer and Albert Mora each driving in two. Nic Anderson-Vine scored four times.

Jason Ferreras pitched the final three innings, striking out four for the Tritons on the mound to secure the victory.

“The wind was blowing out and it was a good day to hit,” ICCC head coach Eric Stein said. “We got out on them early then the game got kind of bonkers.

“It was nice to get the first win after seeing it turn into a roller-coaster game.”

In the second game, the Bears (29-13, 15-5) rallied with a run in the eighth and two in the ninth to spoil a strong pitching performance by Zach Hendrickson.

Hendrickson went the distance, striking out two, walking four and working around 10 hits allowed. On the other side, Will Moritz came on to pitch five innings in relief with three strikeouts, three hits allowed and no walks.

“Zach was awesome,” Stein said. “We played really good defense behind him turning five double plays. And even in the ninth, DMACC pieced stuff together without really hitting the ball hard against him.”

Derek Kay hit a solo home run and stole a base, with Porter driving in the other run for Iowa Central.

The Tritons return to action on Tuesday when they host Indian Hills before heading to Mason City Saturday for the start of a four-game set with North Iowa Area.


Iowa Central 321 320 0 — 11 12 2

DMACC 003 501 1 — 10 8 1

WP–Jason Ferreras (3• IP, 4 H, 1 ER, 4 K, 2 BB). LP–Henry Ristvedt (2 IP, 6 H, 6 ER, 1 K, 1 BB).

HR–D: Denver Blinn, Evan Salmon. 3B–D: Tavien Gillette. 2B–ICCC: Devin Porter (2), Eddy Noguera, Noah Grimes; D: Austin Murr, TJ Mahoney. RBI–ICCC: Alberto Ortiz, Devin Porter (3), Nathin Mortimer (2), Albert Mora (2); D: Calen Schwabe, Denver Blinn (3), Austin Murr (2), Ramon Vega, Grant Bohling, Evan Salmon. SB–ICCC: Alberto Ortiz, Devin Porter, Derek Kay.


Iowa Central 002 000 000 — 2 7 4

DMACC 000 000 012 — 3 9 1

WP–Will Mortiz (5 IP, 3 H, 0 ER, 3 K, 0 BB). LP–Zach Hendrickson (8ª IP, 9 H, 1 ER, 2 K, 4 BB).

HR–ICCC: Derek Kay. 3B–D: Austin Murr. 2B–ICCC: Alberto Ortiz. RBI–ICCC: Derek Kay, Devin Porter; D: Austin Murr, Ramon Vega, Denver Blinn. SB–ICCC: Alberto Ortiz, Derek Kay.