No. 4 Dodgers sweep

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Brooks Cowell of Fort Dodge wrestles at Ankeny Centennial last week.

DES MOINES — The fourth-ranked Fort Dodge wrestling team did what they needed to do to pick up two road victories on Thursday night.

The Dodgers (2-1 overall) defeated Newton, 45-32, and Des Moines North/Hoover, 66-16.

“Our young guys made a lot of mistakes, but we’re getting expierence and mat awareness,” said FDSH head coach Bobby Thompson. “We lost some matches we should have won, but that was due to lack of expierence.”

Top-ranked Drake Ayala (8-0) earned two falls on the night at 113 pounds, beating Newton’s Brennan Amos in two minutes and Aime Mukiza of Hoover in 2:22.

No. 3 Carson Taylor (120) also had two falls, beating Newton’s Damien Bayles (2:19) and Asante Gordon of Hoover in 36 seconds.

“Drake and Carson wrestled well getting two falls,” Thompson said. “Savion (Wheat) had a big win.”

Tenth-rated Brooks Cowell (126) earned a decision and a fall, while Lane Cowell (106) had two forfeits and No. 8 Kody Cook (138) had a fall and forfeit. Fifth-ranked Kaden Smith (170) won by fall and earned a forfeit.

Wheat (160) won by fall and a forfeit.

Dreyzon Phillips (132), Dylan Zimmermann (152) and Logan Finowski (285) picked up one fall each on the night.

The Dodgers are back in action tonight when they head to Council Bluffs for a two-day tournament. Action begins at 1 p.m.


106 — Lane Cowell, FD won by forfeit; 113 — Drake Ayala, FD pinned Brennan Amos, 2:00; 120 — Carson Taylor, FD pinned Damien Bayles, 2:19; 126 — Brooks Cowell, FD dec. Blake Cockerton, 12-11; 132 — Dreyzon Phillips, FD pinned Brady Romberg, :18; 138 — Kody Cook, FD pinned Joseph Colin Sharp, 3:44; 145 — Canaan Terpstra, N pinned Brandon Mills, 1:48; 152 — Zane Kohlmeyer, N tech fall Dylan Zimmermann, 5:58; 160 — Savion Wheat, FD pinned Reece Caves, 3:44; 170 — Kaden Smith, FD pinned Thomas Cox, 2:28; 182 — Destin Schroder, N won by forfeit; 195 — Owen Sanger, N won by forfeit; 220 — Jaise Gulling, N dec. Sawyer Springer, 9-8, TB1); 285 — Gage Linahon, N pinned Logan Finowski, 5:48.


113 — Drake Ayala, FD pinned Aime Mukiza, 2:22; 120 — Carson Taylor, FD pinned Asante Gordon, :36; 126– Brooks Cowell, FD won by forfeit; 132 — Michael Moore, DMNH major dec. Dreyzon Phillips, 13-3; 138 — Kody Cook, FD won by forfeit; 145 — Brandon Mills, FD won by forfeit; 152 — Dylan Zimmermann, FD pinned Josh Foley, DMNH, 2:26; 160 — Savion Wheat, FD won by forfeit; 170 — Kaden Smith, FD won by forfeit; 182 — Dalton Davis, DMNH won by forfeit; 195 — Isaiah Harris, DMNH won by forfeit; 220 — Sawyer Springer, FD won by forfeit; 285 — Logan Finowski, FD pinned Orlando Fuentes, 1:47; 106 — Lane Cowell, FD won by forfeit.