TLC volleyball tourney gets under way

The opening rounds in the Twin Lakes Conference volleyball tournament will take place Tuesday night at four different locations, with the top two teams from each location advancing to Thursday’s semifinals and championship matches.

In Lake City, regular season league champion South Central Calhoun welcomes Pocahontas Area and Storm Lake St. Mary’s. East Sac County, the runners-up during the year to the Titans, Southeast Valley and Manson Northwest Webster will also be hosts.

Play begins at 5:30 p.m. at the four locations, with the winners advancing to the semis and finals on Thursday to be played in Laurens.

Last week, South Central Calhoun finished off a perfect 11-0 run through the TLC with a sweep of the Raiders, dealing them their first conference loss of the season.

“We’re the team with the target on our backs because everyone wants to beat us and take out the top team,” said SCC head coach Martha Mericle, a Fort Dodge Senior High graduate. “We have to stay focused and work hard to beat these teams again.”

The Jaguars, Cougars, Newell-Fonda and Emmetsburg all went 7-4 in the league, with Alta/Aurelia posting a 6-5 mark.

In 11 league matches, South Central Calhoun dropped just three sets, two of which came in a five-set victory over Southeast Valley late last month. They have won six overall and are 16-2 over their last 18 matches played.

East Sac County had won seven in a row before the loss to the Titans.

Southeast Valley started the year 10-3 with eight wins by sweep during that span and Manson Northwest Webster was 6-2 down the stretch.

Joining Southeast Valley will be West Bend-Mallard and Newell-Fonda; Manson NW will host Sioux Central and Emmetsburg; and East Sac County welcomes Alta/Aurelia and Graettinger-Terril.



Conf All

South Central Calhoun 11-0 26-9

East Sac County 10-1 16-12

Newell-Fonda 7-4 17-11

Southeast Valley 7-4 14-7

Manson NW 7-4 11-6

Emmetsburg 7-4 12-12

Alta/Aurelia 6-5 13-8

Pocahontas Area 5-6 13-16

Sioux Central 3-8 6-12

West Bend-Mallard 2-9 6-18

Graettinger-Terril 1-10 4-20

Storm Lake SM 0-11 2-17