All-TLC softball teams released

Southeast Valley and Newell-Fonda each placed three players on the all-Twin Lakes Conference first team after finishing as runners-up to Alta/Aurelia this year.

The Warriors earned four first team spots, with Emmetsburg — which also finished in a tie for second — picking up two.

Kasey Lundberg, Mady Jaeschke and Kenzie Crampton were all named for the Jaguars, with Emma Stewart, Ella Larsen and Olivia Larsen receiving top billing for the Mustangs.

Mikayla Frerichs and Emma Anderson were first teamers for the E-Hawks.

Crampton was 5-1 inside the circle, striking out 49 batters and posting a 1.91 earned run average. She also had 11 hits and drove in 10 runs at the plate.

Lundberg hit .420 with a .629 slugging percentage, 13 RBI, a homer, a triple and 12 runs scored. Jaeschke batted .393 with eight RBI, 11 hits and five stolen bases.

Ella Larsen completed her freshman season by leading the TLC in triples (five) and RBI (21), as Newell-Fonda returned to state. She hit .559, had a 1.000 slugging percentage, stole seven bases and was 3-0 inside the circle with 17 strikeouts.

Olivia Larsen finished tied for third in the league with 18 hits, scoring 19 runs and swiping a conference-best 19 bases. She hit .500 with a .548 on-base percentage to go along with a 6-2 record and 23 strikeouts.

Stewart was second with 14 steals, driving in six runs and posting a .605 on-base.

Frerichs pitched all 11 conference games, going 9-2 with 111 strikeouts and a 2.13 earned run average. Anderson had 13 hits and had a .405 on-base percentage.

After leading Alta/Aurelia to a TLC title with a 10-1 record, Dave Turnquist earned coach of the year honors in the conference. The Warriors also made their first-ever state tournament appearance this summer.


First Team

Abby Kraemer, Alta/Aurelia, jr., P; Mikayla Frerichs, Emmetsburg, soph., P; Lily Peterson, Alta/Aurelia, sr., C; Kasey Lundberg, Southeast Valley, jr., C; Rowan Kolpin, Alta/Aurelia, jr., INF; Emma Stewart, Newell-Fonda, jr., INF; Ella Larsen, Newell-Fonda, fr., INF; Sydney Sunblad, Sioux Central, sr., INF; Brittany Turnquist, Alta/Aurelia, jr., OF; Emma Anderson, Emmetsburg, sr., OF; Mady Jaeschke, Southeast Valley, jr., OF; Kenzie Crampton, Southeast Valley, soph., U; Olivia Larsen, Newell-Fonda, jr., U; Taylor Park, G-T/R-A, sr., U.

Second Team

Morgan Castenson, Southeast Valley, jr., P; Maddy Norris, G-T/R-A, sr., P; Annie Brennan, Emmetsburg, soph., C; Madison Hough, G-T/R-A, soph., C; Abby Schany, Emmetsburg, fr., INF; Megan Morenz, Newell-Fonda, soph., INF; Madi Friedrichsen, East Sac County, sr., INF; Hailey Nepple, Storm Lake St. Mary’s, sr., INF; Anna Sorenson, G-T/R-A, sr., OF; Maddie Jones, South Central Calhoun, jr., OF; Jocelyn Johnson, Pocahontas Area, sr., OF; Jessica Flaherty, Alta/Aurelia, jr., U; Chloe Bakken, G-T/R-A, jr., U; Taylor Krager, Sioux Central, fr., U.

Honorable Mention

Alicia Turnquist, Alta/Aurelia, sr.; Parker Traub, Emmetsburg, sr.; Cassi Berglund, Southeast Valley, soph.; Peyton Wilken, Newell-Fonda, sr.; Sierra Kluever, G-T/R-A, fr.; Sally Musselman, South Central Calhoun, fr.; Kally Fahnlander, Sioux Central, soph.; Kara Wilkens, East Sac County, jr.; Abby Jones, Storm Lake St. Mary’s, sr.; Lizzie Lenhart, Storm Lake St. Mary’s, jr.; Mara Clark, West Bend-Mallard, sr.; Maddie Peterson, Manson Northwest Webster, sr.; Joy Herman, Pocahontas Area, soph.