Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

FDSH musicians selected for honor band

December 10, 2012
Messenger News

Sixteen Fort Dodge Senior High band students were selected for the North Central Iowa Bandmasters Association honor band.

The NCIBA honor band consists of 200 students from the area: 100 freshmen and sophomores and 100 juniors and seniors.

Students are selected based on a nomination process. The selection criteria considers whether the student has been an All-State Band member or alternate, if the student was recalled for All-State Band and if the student auditioned for All-State Band.

The criteria also looks at the students' solo/ensemble participation and rating, if they are a past NCIBA honor band member, what private study they've done, other honor bands they've been selected to and the recommendation of their band director.

Students representing FDSH include: Ashley Graham, clarinet; Brittany Eger, alto sax; Chloee Narber, clarinet; Alex Graham, trumpet; Nick Swanson, trumpet; Brian Murman, trombone; Bella Chou, bassoon; Kelsey Albrecht, alto sax; Allison Birnbaum, bass clarinet; Aric Lehrkamp, trombone; Allison Becker, clarinet; Alex Maas, clarinet; Baylie Wingerson, clarinet; Eric Puls, trumpet; McKellen Glassell, tenor sax; and Stefan Crowl, percussion.

"The students selected to represent Fort Dodge Senior High are all very talented musicians and each is worthy of this honor," Mike Richardson, FDSH band director, said. "It's a great feeling to have so many students recognized for their talent."

The honor band will perform at 7 p.m. Jan. 5 Iowa Central Community College's Decker Auditorium.



I am looking for: