Green wins GOP nod in Senate District 24

Oppedhal Paschen is Democratic nominee

Jesse Green

Harcourt area farmer Jesse Green won the Republican nomination in state Senate District 24 Tuesday and will face Democrat Cynthia Oppedahl Paschen in the November general election.

Green won 2,275 votes to secure the nomination, according to unofficial results released Tuesday night by Iowa Secretry of State Paul Pate.

Boone County Supervisor Chad Behn came in second on the Republican side with 1,790 votes. He is the son of state Sen. Jerry Behn, R-Boone, who will retire from the Senate District 24 seat when his term expires in early Jnaury.

Rounding out the field were Todd Rasmussen with 1,107 votes and Joshua Dyer with 427 votes.

Oppedahl Paschen, of Ames, won 3,071 votes to wrap up the Democratic nomination. Keith Puntenney, who was the Democratic nominee for the seat four years ago, won 1,501 votes.

Cynthia Oppedal Paschen

Senate District 24 includes Boone, Greene and Hamilton counties, southeast Webster County and northwest Story County.

Green won 308 votes in Webster County. Dyer won 38, Behn won 28 and Rasmussen won 23.

On the Democratic ticket in Webster County, Oppedahl Paschen won 162 votes while Puntenney won 102.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)