Incumbent senator wins again

State Sen. Tim Kraayenbrink, R-Fort Dodge, easily won a second term Tuesday.

He defeated Democrat John O’Brien, also of Fort Dodge, by a margin of 61.93 percent to 37.99 percent, according to unofficial election returns posted late Tuesday by Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate.

“I was very pleased with the entire night as far as the Iowa political scene goes,” Kraayenbrink said.

“I thought John ran a good, clean race, as did we,” he added. “I’m just thankful we came out on top.”

He said that when he returns to the state Capitol in Des Moines for the 2019 legislative session, he will work on corporate tax cuts that he said will make Iowa more attactive to businesses.

The senator added that reaching an agreement to provide localized mental health services will also be a priority for him.

An attempt to reach O’Brien late Tuesday night was unsuccessful.

Senate District 5 includes Calhoun, Humboldt and Pocahontas counties plus most of Webster County.

In Webster County, Kraayenbrink received 6,706 votes, or 54.9 percent. O’Brien received 5,494 votes or 44.98 percent.

In Pocahontas County, Kraayenbrink won 2,194 votes or 71.7 percent. O’Brien won 866 votes or 28.30 percent there.

In Calhoun County, Kraayenbrink won 2,784 votes or 66 percent, while O’Brien won 1,245 votes or 34 percent.

In Humboldt County, Kraayenbrink won 2,861 votes or 71.49 percent. O’Brien won 28.46 percent there.