FDSH Large Group Speech Team earns 11 Division I ratings at districts

Fifty-eight Fort Dodge Senior High students prepared 15 entries for the Iowa High School Speech Association District Large Group Speech Contest.

Eleven Fort Dodge Senior High speech groups received Division I ratings and will move on to the State Large Group Speech Contest on Feb. 2.

“We had an outstanding day at District competition,” said Lindey Krug, FDSH speech coach. “The students did a great job. I’m very proud of their performances and look forward to state competition for those who qualified.”

Receiving Division I ratings were:

• Group Improvisation — CJ Squared — Jacob Laird, Jordan Martin, Chris Hatton.

• Group Improvisation — FLACC — Destiny Farhat, Taishonna Ludwig, Chase Anderson, Josh Campbell, Keiona Crooks.

• One-Act Play — The Substitute — Isabel Beekman, Cameron Larson, Maddie Brehm, Akeylah Wilson, Jerri Evans, Connor Bruns, Naima Nentele.

• Group Mime — Cinderella-ish — Jeannie Boro, Desi Pineda, Ash Wacholtz.

• Ensemble — Early Frost — Sydney Karr, Kylie Portz, Victoria Pavik, Gracie Miller, Reagan Black.

• Ensemble — Sociability — Grace Champagne, Alaina Porter, Josh Meier, Antavion Adams.

• Musical Theater — Finding Neverland — Mackenzie Sharp, Kylie Portz, Cole Hamlow, Austin Andrews, Cayci Bidleman, Macey Peterson, Jeannie Boro.

• Readers Theater — Finding Hope — Antavion Adams, Emily Asay, Kane Freeman, Macey Peterson, Joey Kelley, Nathan Hayes, Collin Ellsbury, Keziah Henkelman, Cayci Bidleman, Jamie Lennon, Annie Niemeyer, Olivia Selby, Chloe Vinchattle, Madison Vinchattle, Josh Meier.

• Radio Broadcasting — KOTRTN (Knights of the Round Table) — Jacob Cook, Nathan Hayes, Nathaniel Madden, Jonathan Madden.

• JV Choral Reading — Freshman Anonymous — Malaney Butrick, Katelyn Ganzeveld, Bo Tracey, Dennis Morgan, LaShae Pettigrew, Aliscia Habhab, Estella Moffitt.

• JV TV News — SNAZ — LaShae Pettigrew, Aliscia Habhab, Estella Moffitt.

Receiving Division II ratings were:

• Group Improvisation — MRCC — Maddie Brehm, Rose Coppinger, Cameron Larson, Connor Bruns.

• TV News — Nursing Home News — Jerri Evans, Akeylah Wilson, Leanna Black.

• Short Film — How to Get a Girl — Destiny Farhat, Chase Anderson, Josh Campbell, Josh Wunder, Hailie Miklo, Rose Coppinger, Ash Wacholtz.

• Ensemble — Let’s Go Already — Isabel Beekman, Dalton Summers.