35 FDSH speech members headed to state competition

Fort Dodge Senior High students prepared 43 entries for the Iowa High School Speech Association District Individual Speech Contest held Feb. 24 in Fort Dodge.

“Our kids did an amazing job at contest,” speech coach Lindey Krug said. “It’s so rewarding seeing our students have success following all the time and effort they put into their performances, and I look forward to another great day at state competition.”

Thirty-five Fort Dodge Senior High performers received Division I ratings and will move on to the State Individual Speech Contest in Carroll on Saturday. Receiving Division I ratings were:

• Acting: Chloe Vinchattle: “Raw.”

• Acting: Olyvia Selby, “Finding Hope: Mary’s Story.”

• After Dinner: Hannah Reynoso, “Guac’s Up.”

• Expository Address: Antavion Adams, “Evolution of a TV Mom.”

• Improvisation: Haider Zaidi.

• Improvisation: Maddie Brehm.

• Improvisation: Anya Hamilton.

• Literary Program: Keziah Henkelman, “I Am Not Black, and You Are Not White.”

• Literary Program: Baili Roberts, “Lessons from Hiroshima.”

• Literary Program: Alaina Porter, “Waves.”

• Original Oratory: Maddie Brehm, “The Reality of a Fictional Expectation.”

• Original Oratory: Connor Bruns, “Boys Will be Boys.”

• Original Oratory: Adyson McKinney, “Blaming the Victim.”

• Poetry: Courtney Cordle, “Will You Still Love Me.”

• Poetry: Malorie Tracy, “Depression.”

• Poetry: Katie Parsons, “Perfect.”

• Prose: Chris Hatton, “Embracing Life.”

• Prose: Kylie Portz, “Forkful of Salad.”

• Public Address: J.R. Brandt, “If You Want to Change the World.”

• Public Address: Grace Champagne, “Gender Equality is Your Issue Too.”

• Reviewing: Jordan Martin, “+5.”

• Solo Musical Theatre: Dart Dohrn, “Mr. Cellophane.”

• Solo Musical Theatre: Karisa Meier, “Watch What Happens.”

• Solo Musical Theatre: Collin Ellsbury, “Empty Chairs and Empty Tables.”

• Spontaneous Speaking: Justin Vaughan.

• Storytelling: MaKayla Pingel, “The Three Gators.”

• Storytelling: Jeannie Boro, “Caps for Sale.”

• Junior Varsity Acting: Isabel Beekman, “The Cheerer-Upper.”

• Junior Varsity Acting: Maddie Vinchattle, “Girls Guide to Chaos.”

• Junior Varsity Acting: Reagan Black, “You Have Swoopy Hair.”

• Junior Varsity Improvisation: Josh Campbell.

• Junior Varsity Literary Program: Josh Meier, “The Creation.”

• Junior Varsity Poetry: Isabel Beekman, “Awkward.”

• Junior Varsity Poetry: Josh Meier, “Quicksand.”

• Junior Varsity Solo Musical Theatre: Joey Kelley, “Not My Father’s Son.”

Receiving Division II ratings were:

• After Dinner: Jerri Evans, “Aerobics Anonymous.”

• Expository Address: Akeylah Wilson, “How to Avoid Being a Bad Comedian.”

• Prose: Michaela Kauffman, “I Am Amelia Earhart.”

• Radio News Announcing: Jacob Laird.

• Spontaneous Speaking: Austin Andrews.

• Junior Varsity Prose: Sawyer Springer, “The Room.”

• Junior Varsity Solo Musical Theater: Victoria Pavik, “Journey to the Past.”

• Junior Varsity Solo Musical Theater: Reagan Black, “Maybe This Time.”