FD Senior High large group speech team competes at districts

More than 60 Fort Dodge Senior High students prepared 21 entries for the Iowa High School Speech Association District Large Group Speech Contest held Jan. 20 in Storm Lake.

Eleven Fort Dodge Senior High speech groups received Division I ratings and will move on to the State Large Group Speech Contest in LeMars on Feb. 3. Receiving Division I ratings were:

– TV News — WSPN: Women’s Social and Political News — Gabby Estlund, Jordan Martin, Akelah Wilson, Jerri Evans, Adyson McKinney, Leeanna Black, Katie Rushton.

– Ensemble Acting — Agnes of God — Karisa Meier, Grace Champagne-Johnson, Antavion Adams.

– Ensemble Acting — Wizard of Oz … If We Have To — Malorie Tracy, Hannah Reynoso, Annie Niemeyer, Jordan Martin, Justin Vaugahn.

– Ensemble Acting — Cain Town — Courtney Cordle, Brayden Bell.

– JV Ensemble Acting — DMV Tyrant — Josh Meier, Gracie Miller.

– Group Improvisation — Chris Hatton, Cayden Brinton, Jordan Martin.

– Group Improvisation — Jacob Laird, Anya Hamilton, Connor Bruns.

– Readers Theater — Radio Program — Taishonna Ludwig, Haider Zaidi, Akelah Wilson, Michaela Rutherford, Maddie Brehm, Jeannie Boro, Connor Bruns, Ethan Recker.

– JV Musical Theater — Annie Get Your Gun — Joey Kelley, Cayci Bidleman.

– Musical Theater — At the Ballet — Karisa Meier, Grace Champagne-Johnson, Olyvia Selby, Malorie Tracy, Alaina Porter, Katie Parsons.

– Choral Reading — Nothing Special — Cayden Brinton, Grace Stackhouse, Baili Roberts, Hannah Reynoso, Chloe Vinchattle, Anya Hamilton.

Receiving Division II ratings were:

– JV Musical Theatre — Fiddler on the Roof — Isabel Beekman, Victoria Pavik, Madison Vinchattle.

– JV Group Improvisation — Josh Campbell, Reagan Black, Ashlyn Wacholtz.

– JV Readers Theatre — Josh Meier, Gracie Miller, Cayci Bidleman, Joey Kelley, Josh Campbell, Reagan Black, Ashlyn Wacholtz, Sawyer Springer, Macey Peterson, Madison Vinchattle, Isabel Beekman, Victoria Pavik.

– Group Mime — Desi Pineda, Jeannie Boro.

– Short Film — Haider Zaidi, Jordan Martin, MaKayla Pingel, Ethan Recker, Maddie Brehm.

– One Act Play — Jacob Laird, Antavion Adams, Alaina Porter, Kylie Portz, Chris Hatton, Jerri Evans, MaKayla Pingel, Gabby Estlund, Katie Parsons.

“We had an outstanding day at District,” said speech coach Lindey Krug said. “The teams did a great job, and I hope the students came away from this experience as proud of their performances as I was.”