Humboldt boys stay hot, capture gold

Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Eric Wittrock of Humboldt runs in the distance medley relay on Monday during the Dodger Relays at Dodger Stadium. For more photos, visit

The Humboldt boys track team has something special going, and for head coach Greg Wickett, the goal is to continue to find the right pieces to the puzzle.

The Wildcats won their third meet of the season on Monday, claiming gold in Class B of the 61st running of the Dodger Relays.

“It’s nice to come down here and run well,” Wickett said. “With guys tweaking things, we have different times and different outcomes.

“This is an opportunity for our younger guys to step up, and that’s when you find guys to put in. It’s about piecing everything together.”

Humboldt won seven events, with four runner-up performances as well. The Wildcats racked up 156 total points.

Boone (114) was the runner-up, followed by St. Edmond (90), Algona (88), Bishop Garrigan (64) and Eagle Grove (50).

The Bulldogs won five events, with St. Edmond and Bishop Garrigan claiming one victory each.

Quinton Orr was a double winner for the Wildcats, securing gold in the 800 (2:09.28) and the 3200 (10:11.50).

Cale Hundertmark took the 200-meter dash (23.40), and Sawyer Savery was the champ in the 110 hurdles (16.43).

“Quinton had a really good night,” Wickett said. “Eric, Cale and Sawyer had good times. Everyone stepped up.”

The 4×800 relay quartet of Joseph Kunert, Trevor Jacobson, Eric Wittrock and Calvin Carlson won in 8:52.01.

Tyler Vitzthum, Joey Busse, Ryder Wickett and Wittrock recorded gold in the distance medley (3:51.83).

The shuttle hurdle quartet of Matt Miller, Savery, Busse and Vitzthum won in 1:04. 53.

“This was definitely a good meet to compete well at,” Wickett said. “Fort Dodge runs a quality meet.

“It’s time to see the times come down.”

St. Edmond

Donn Larson wasn’t worried as much about what place the Gaels finished in events.

Instead, the St. Edmond head coach was looking more at the times of his squad.

The Gaels came away with one victory, capturing gold in the sprint medley relay. The quartet of Kase Baker, Sean Newell, Sean Flattery and Charlie Shelly won in 1:38.40.

“We ran well in the sprint medley,” Larson said. “Kase and Sean returned from their injuries, which was a positive.”

The Gaels brought home seven second-place finishes in front of the home crowd as well.

“We had a lot of seconds against a tough field,” Larson said. “We saw some good things, and we’re looking more at times than places at this point.”

St. Edmond barely missed out on championships in the 4×100 (45.88 to 45.69) and the 4×200 (1:37.91 to 1:37.37) relays.

The 4×100 was Baker, Nick Bennett, Flattery and Newell. The 4×200 was Baker, Bennett, Flattery and Newell.

The quartet of Andrew Gibb, Newell, Flattery and Shelly was runner-up in the 4×400 (3:36.77), and Bennett, Jackson Bemrich, Cael Kolacia and Gibb were also second in the distance medley (3:52.76).

Individual silvers came from Shelly (52.31 in the 400), Jed Tracy (11:10.30 in 3200) and Bemrich (16.62 in 110 hurdles).

Gibb was third in the 800 (2:12.21).

“We’re looking ahead and trying to get our times down,” Larson said. “We had a number of guys, including Charlie, Jed, Jackson and Cael, that had some strong times, as well as our 4×100.”


The Bulldogs had a 1-2 punch in the 100-meter dash. Skyler Groen (11.47) edged teammate David Patrick (11.68).

Trey Engen won the 1600-meter run (4:28.75).

The quartet of Groen, Matt Grein, Jacob Durant and Wyatt Wegener edged the Gaels in the 4×100 relay (45.69), and the foursome of Groen, Durant, Grein and Patrick (1:37.37) also topped the Gaels.

Andrew Hamilton was the discus winner with a throw of 130-07.

Durant, Patrick, Groen and Engen were second in the sprint medley (1:40.06).

Bishop Garrigan

T.J. Schnurr was the lone winner for the Golden Bears, capturing gold in the shot put (51-08).

Garrigan was second in the 4×800 with John Meis, Brad Capesius, Tristan Ferguson and Joseph Meis (9:02.52).

Ferguson was the runner-up in the long jump with a leap of 20 feet.

Eagle Grove

The quartet of Mark Dawson, Tomas Rolon, Justin Agtun and Zach Burns were second in the shuttle hurdle relay (1:11.05).

Burns was also second in the high jump (5-06).