Tritons shine at nationals

ICCC?men 2nd, women 3rd; Lutzeler a champ, Plane honored

Submitted photo The Iowa Central men’s and women’s swim squads pose together at the NJCAA national meet on Sunday.

BUFFALO, N.Y. — The Iowa Central swim program capped a memorable performance at the NJCAA national meet with a runner-up finish on the men’s side and a third-place effort for the women on Saturday.

Emile Lutzeler became the school’s first-ever national swim champion on Thursday, winning the 50 breaststroke in 25.43. Lutzeler was also second in the 100 breaststroke (55.74).

Joe Plane was named the women’s national coach of the year at the conclusion of the event.

Triton Vini Molz was a national runner-up in the 1000 freestyle with a time of 9:31.26. The men’s 800 free relay quartet of Caleb Gaylor, Javier Ronda, Collin McGuire and Molz was also second in 6:59.92, as was the men’s 200 free relay of Fort Dodge Senior High graduate Mitch Emery, Vincent Fletcher, Gaylor and Lutzeler (1:23.72), and the 400 medley relay of Mariano Sosa, Emery, Gaylor and Lutzeler in 3:22.77.

The men’s 400 free relay of Emery, Gaylor, Fletcher and Lutzeler was a runner-up as well in 3:06.83.

Emery was third in the 100 butterfly with a time of 48.94, and third in the 50 butterfly (22.09).

The Indian River (Fla.) men earned their 45th consecutive national championship with 1,297 points. The Pioneers won 24 of the 25 individual races.

On the women’s side, Paula Ronda was a silver medalist in the 400 individual medley (4:38.66), as was Emilie Andrin in both the 100 breaststroke (1:06.85) and 200 breaststroke (2:26.70).

Iowa Central’s 800 free relay quartet of Ronda, Majo Diaz, Eve Berg and Mary Marshall took a runner-up spot as well in 8:04.29, and the 400 free relay (Berg, Diaz, Marshall and Zoe Beals) was second in 3:39.80.

The Indian River women secured their 37th straight national championship with 1,277 points. South Georgia State and the Tritons next in line.