Tritons compete for national titles

LUBBOCK, Tex. — The Iowa Central indoor track and field teams have put together an unbeaten season.

Now, they will try to double up on the big stage here Friday and Saturday at the NJCAA Indoor Track and Field National Championships.

The event is at Texas Tech University, with FloTrack providing live coverage.

In their latest action, the Tritons swept the Region XI team crowns, winning their 13th consecutive indoor titles. Iowa Central scored 324 points on the men’s side and 288 by the women.

Despite being four-time defending indoor national champions, the Triton men enter the meet ranked third overall behind South Plains (Tex.) and Barton (Kan.)

South Plains jumped ahead of Barton for first in the most recent rankings with 302.08 points. Barton has 288.96 and Iowa Central is third at 267.97.

Iowa Western is 13th and Southwestern 25th.

Last year, the Tritons scored 124 points to hold off South Plains (104.5) and Barton (70.5).

Agnes Mansaray returns to defend two individual championships, as she looks to help Iowa Central win the overall team crown after coming up five points short last year.

New Mexico scored 121 to best the Tritons, with South Plains third.

Mansaray won the 600 and 1000 and is entered in both events along with defending 60-meter champion Nelda Huggins from Iowa Central. Huggins was also the runner-up in the 200.

The Tritons are the overwhelming favorite, as they are ranked No. 1 with 398.27 points. New Mexico is second (356.15) and Central Arizona third (268.65).

Iowa Western is 21st overall.

Adva Cohen qualified in four individual events for Iowa Central. The freshman from Israel was the 2017 NJCAA Cross Country individual champion and Half-Marathon winner. Cohen was named the National Women’s Athlete of the Year and the Midwest Region Athlete of the Year.


(Friday-Saturday, Lubbock, Texas/Texas Tech University)

Qualifiers for Iowa Central


60-meter — Bryant Brown, Cay Lockhart.

200-meter — Malik Beverly, Phemelo Matlhabe, Bryant Brown, Cary Lockhart.

400-meter — Vincent Notz, Ndiaga Seck, Phemelo Matlhabe.

600-meter — Ndiaga Seck, Thomas Zor, Vincent Notz.

800-meter — Isaiah Nicholas, Brian Bell.

1000-meter — Chase Bulten, Alex Sanford, Brian Bell, Chris Wignall, Mel Obadiah, Ezekiel Kipchirchir, Innocent Murwanashyaka.

3000-meter — Ezekiel Kipchirchi, Jhordan Ccope.

5000-meter — Jhordan Ccope, Ezekiel Kipchirchir, Innocent Murwanashyaka, Peter Eskandr, Josh Jacques.

Mile — Alex Sanford, Jhordan Ccope, Ezekiel Kipchirchir, Innocent Murwanashyaka.

60-meter high hurdles — Malik Beverly.

Relays — 4×400-meter, distance medley, 4×800-meter.

Pole vault — Eric Maymon.

Triple jump — Chris Thompson.

Shot put — Ryder Emberton.

Long jump — Akeem Bradshaw.

High jump — Ronniel Johnson.

Weight throw — Tyler Lienau, Travis Petersen.

Heptathlon — Ronniel Johnson.


60-meter — Nelda Huggins.

200-meter — Nelda Huggins, Marjane Coley.

400-meter — Marjanae Coley, India McNeil.

600-meter — Agnes Mansaray, India McNeil, Adva Cohen.

800-meter — Agnes Mansaray, Abeba Sullivan, Katy Pfile, Aaliyah Regg Wajid.

1000-meter — Aaliyah Regg Wajid, Abeba Sullivan, Katy Pfile, Sierra Stucky, Adva Cohen, Agnes Mansaray.

3000-meter — Adva Cohen, Marion Bartilol, Marta Lukijaniuk, Katy Pfile, Sierra Stucky, Abby Gawthorp.

5000-meter — Adva Cohen, Winrose Chesang, Marion Bartilol, Marta Lukijaniuk, Katy Pfile, Sierra Stucky, Abby Gawthorp.

Mile — Aaliyah Regg Wajid.

Relays — 4×400-meter, distance medley, 4×800-meter.

Weight throw — Payton Roberts, Kirsten Leisinger, Michelle Tomlin.

Shot put — Payton Roberts, Michelle Tomlin.