Silver lining

—Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Newell-Fonda stands with the Class 1A runner-up trophy after losing to Springville in the championship game. For more photos, please visit

DES MOINES — Each of the last four Class 1A state titles have been won by either Newell-Fonda or Springville.

Saturday night, it was the top-ranked Orioles cementing their status as queen’s of the class, winning their third consecutive championship, 60-49 inside Wells Fargo Arena.

Springville, who has not lost here at state since the 2015 final vs. the Mustangs, opened up a double-digit lead in the second half and held on from there.

Mikayla Nachazel scored a game-high 25 points with 11 rebounds, going 9 of 13 from the field. She was also 6 of 8 at the free throw line, with the rest of the Orioles finishing 6-for-15 from the line.

Rylee Menster added 14 points and four assists, with both Nichole Kane and Sami Johnson adding seven points. Kane, a junior who previously attended school at St. Edmond, also had three assists and knocked down a 3-pointer that gave Springville a lead in the second they would never surrender.

The loss was the first of the year for No. 4 Newell-Fonda (26-1), who was also knocked out of state in 2016 by Springville in the semifinals.

Megan Morenz led the Mustangs, scoring 12 points. Olivia Larsen added 11 points, six rebounds and five assists, with Camryn Wilken scoring nine and Ella Larsen eight.

Wilken knocked down three 3-pointers.

This marked the seventh title game appearance for the Mustangs, all under head coach Dick Jungers. The 2015 victory vs. Springville remains the lone championship-winning performance for N-F.

Newell-Fonda is set to graduate just one player from its 15-deep roster in senior Jenna Coppock. She knocked down one of the five made triples for the Mustangs.

Springville’s senior class, which includes Menster, Madi Wagaman, Courtney Boland, Johnson, Alyssa Jaeger and Nachazel, has gone 98-10 over the last four years with three state titles and a runner-up trophy.

Over the last 11 seasons, the Orioles have captured four state titles and finished second two other times, posting a combined record of 16-2.

Larsen and Morenz were selected to the all-tournament team along with Menster, Nachazel, Alli Masters of Central Decatur and Exira-EHK’s Sophia Peppers. Nachazel was voted captain of the squad.


Springville — Nichole Kane 2-3 2-4 7, Rylee Menster 5-9 3-5 14, Madi Wagaman 1-5 1-2 3, Alyssa Jaeger 1-3 0-3 2, Mikayla Nachazel 9-13 6-8 25, Melissa Nulle 1-2 0-0 2, Courtney Boland 0-1 0-0 0, Sami Johnson 3-3 0-1 7. Totals: 22-39 12-23 60.

Newell-Fonda — Emma Stewart 0-5 0-0 0, Jenna Coppock 1-4 0-0 3, Megan Morenz 6-9 0-1 12, Olivia Larsen 3-7 5-8 11, Ella Larsen 4-8 0-0 8, Camryn Wilken 3-5 0-0 9, Bailey Sievers 0-1 0-0 0, Beth Greenfield 0-0 0-0 0, Maggie Walker 2-2 1-2 6, Ashley Archer 0-0 0-0 0. Totals: 19-41 6-11 49.

Quarter scores: Springville led 12-10, 25-20, 41-32. Three-point goals: Springville 4-5 (Kane 1-1, Menster 1-1, Jaeger 0-1, Nachazel 1-1, Johnson 1-1); Newell-Fonda 5-19 (Stewart 0-5, Coppock 1-4, O. Larsen 0-2, E. Larsen 0-2, Wilken 3-5, Walker 1-1). Total rebounds: Springville 29, Newell-Fonda 16. Assists: Springville 13, Newell-Fonda 10. Blocked shots: Springville 1. Steals: Springville 10, Newell-Fonda 9. Turnovers: Springville 18, Newell-Fonda 17. Team fouls: Springville 14, Newell-Fonda 19.