Cohen wins two titles

—Submitted photo Iowa Central’s Adva Cohen competes for the Triton track and field team. Cohen won two individual titles and was part of the championship 4x800 team during the national tournament.

LUBBOCK, Tex. — The Iowa Central men and women track teams competed here Saturday at the NJCAA Indoor National Championships host by Texas Tech University.

The Triton women finished third with 89 points, a single point behind South Plains. New Mexico was the winner with 120. South Plains captured the men’s title with Barton, Cloud County, Meridian and Iowa Central rounding out the Top-5.

Distance sensation Adva Cohen showed she is just as capable inside as outside, winning the 1000-meter race in 2:55.32. She was an individual winner on Friday in the 3000.

Agnes Mansaray continued her standout career, adding the 800-meter title to her resume. Mansaray placed first in 2:21.98 a year after winning both the 600 and 1000.

She also was part of the winning 4×800-meter relay that included Aaliyah Regg-Wajid, Abeba Sullivan and Cohen. They won in 9:15.45.

Nelda Huggins, who won the 60-meter race last year, was the national runner-up this time around. She was also fifth in the 200 in 24.15.

Iowa Central’s 4×400-meter relay earned sixth

Travis Peterson opened the second day of action by winning the men’s weight throw with a toss of 62-5.75.

Malik Beverly secured silver in the 60-meter hurdles, clocking a time of 7.87. He later added a fourth in the 200, going 21.23, as Phemelo Matlhabe was seventh in the same event.

Iowa Central’s 4×800-meter relay was reinstated following an initial disqualification, placing fourth in 7:48.27. That unit consisted of Isaiah Nicholas, Mel Obadiah, Chris Wignall and Alex Sanford.

Akeem Bradshaw added an eighth in the triple jump, adding to his runner-up showing on Friday in the long jump.

South Plains won two individual titles over the weekend, earning its sixth crown on the men’s side and snapping Iowa Central’s run at the top. This is the first title for the Texans since 2015.

Iowa Central and South Plains have combined to win 10 of the last 12 national titles, including each of the past eight.