Gibb unanimous all-NCC

Messenger file photo St. Edmond junior Andrew Gibb drives to the basket in the Gael gym during the regular season.

St. Edmond junior Andrew Gibb was one of three unanimous all-North Central Conference first team selections, with two of his Gael teammates joining him on the honor squads.

Gibb, Algona’s Wyatt Wegener and Clear Lake’s Zach Lester all secured unanimous status for their efforts this past winter.

St. Edmond senior Will Woodruff was named to the second squad, with junior Jackson Kochendorfer garnering third team status.

Webster City’s Jordan Tanner, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows’ Sam Urness and Iowa Falls-Alden’s Karson Sharar completed the first team.

Gibb was second to Lester for the conference scoring title, averaging 21 per game. He shot almost 50 percent from the field, 40 percent from the 3-point line and 88 percent at the free throw line.

Along with his 295 points, Gibb also had 45 assists and 22 steals in NCC games.

“Andrew’s ability to score made us a tough team,” SEHS head coach Adolph Kochendorfer said. “He always kept us in games with his offensive ability. He also got better at distributing the ball.”

Wegener averaged 17 points. The sophomore averaged six rebounds a game.

Urness, who scored 18 points per game, led the NCC with 73 assists. Tanner had 207 points, 32 assists and 25 steals.

Woodruff paced the conference with 146 rebounds, averaging over 10 per contest. He was also first in blocks with 27 tied for sixth in assists. Kochendorfer was second in made triples with 44, shooting 45 percent from deep.

“Will was a four-year starter and did a lot of the little things. He has to be near the top of our career charts for rebounds,” Kochendorfer said. “Jackson’s ability to shoot from deep helped spread out defenses and opened up the lanes for Andrew, Sean (Flaherty) and Will.”

Algona’s Trevor Bormann, Rhett Darland from Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, Webster City’s Cameron Moen and Humboldt’s Calvin Carlson landed on the second, with Will Weidemann from Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, Henry Hoversten of Webster City, Colin Bleich from Algona and Jamison Heinz of Humboldt on the third.

Of the 18 players named, eight were seniors, six juniors, three sophomores and a freshman.


First Team

*Zach Lester, Clear Lake, sr.; *Andrew Gibb, St. Edmond, jr.; *Wyatt Wegener, Algona, soph.; Jordan Tanner, Webster City, sr.; Sam Urness, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, sr.; Karson Sharar, Iowa Falls-Alden, fr.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Trevor Bormann, Algona, sr.; Rhett Darland, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, sr.; Cameron Moen, Webster City, sr.; Will Woodruff, St. Edmond, sr.; Calvin Carlson, Humboldt, jr.; Drew Enke, Clear Lake, jr.

Third Team

Will Weidemann, Clarion-Goldfield/Dows, sr.; Henry Hoversten, Webster City, jr.; Jackson Kochendorfer, St. Edmond, jr.; Tate Storbeck, Clear Lake, jr.; Colin Bleich, Algona, soph.; Jamison Heinz, Humboldt, soph.