Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Globetrotters coming to Fort Dodge

Event will be Tuesday at Iowa Central

April 8, 2013
By JOSH MEYER - Messenger Sports Writer ( , Messenger News

For 87 years, the legendary Harlem Globetrotters have entertained millions of fans around the world with a unique combination of high-flying basketball and comedy.

Tuesday night, the popular barnstorming organization will make a stop here at Hodges Fieldhouse.

Action begins at 7 p.m. Magic doors open at 5 p.m., followed by game doors at 6 p.m.

Tickets are $25 for bleacher seats and $48 for courtside.

Magic passes can also be purchased for an additional $12, where fans will have a chance to shoot baskets, spin balls and meet players.

Spectators will get to vote on the rules of the game for the first time ever. Two ball basketball, double points, 4-point shots, penalty boxes and 6-on-5 are among the possibilities.

Fact Box


When: Tuesday.

Where: Hodges Fieldhouse

on the Iowa Central campus.

Time: 5 p.m. (Magic doors); 6 p.m. (Game doors open); 7 p.m. (action begins).

Cost: $25 for bleacher seats; $48 for courtside; $12 for magic passes (additional).

Comprising the Globetrotter roster Tuesday are Firefly Fisher, B-Nice Narcisse, Flight Time Lang, Jet Williams, Special K, Too Tall Hall, T-Time Brawner and Hammer Harrison.

As part of the four-city Iowa tour, which also included visits to Sioux City, Des Moines and Cedar Falls, Governor Terry Branstad declared today Harlem Globetrotters day across the state.

Since being founded in 1926, the red, white and blue have played more than 20,000 exhibition games in 122 countries.

Five former Globetrotters have had their numbers retired to date, including Wilt Chamberlain (2000), Marques Haynes (2001), Meadowlark Lemon (2001), Reece "Goose" Tatum (2002) and Fred "Curly" Neal (2008). Among the honorary members are Henry Kissinger (1976), Bob Hope (1977), Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1989), Whoopi Goldberg (1990), Nelson Mandela (1996), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1999), Pope John Paul II (2000) and Jesse Jackson (2001).



I am looking for: