Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Titans take TLC crown

January 13, 2013
By The Messenger Sports staff ( , Messenger News

LAURENS - The South Central Calhoun wrestling team captured the Twin Lakes Conference championship on Saturday.

The Titans scored 228 points and outdistanced themselves from runner-up Manson Northwest Webster (214).

Prairie Valley (189) was third, followed by Pocahontas Area (169.5), Alta/Aurelia (105), Sioux Central/Laurens-Marathon (79.5), Graettinger-Terril (79), Southeast Webster-Grand (57), East Sac County (42) and West Bend-Mallard (14).

South Central Calhoun claimed four championships from Chase Goodman (126), Logan Peed (132), Rylan Richardson (182) and Aron King (285).

Runner-up finishes for the Titans were Trey Eddy (138), Zayne Barrett (152) and Tyler Kutz (160).

Winning titles for the Cougars was Harley Janssen (120), Payton Rice (138) and Lucas Dolder (160).

Fact Box


Team Standings

1. SCC 228; 2. MNW 214; 3. PV 189; 4. 169.5 PA; 5. Alta/Aurelia 105; 6. Sioux Central LM 79.5; 7. GT/RA 79; 8. SW-G 57; 9. East Sac 42; 10. WB-M 14.

Championship Matches

106 pounds

Championship: Spencer Johnson, PV major Dec. Joe Minkler, PA, 9-0; Third-place: Chase Bulten, MNW dec. Jordan Payne, SCC, 5-2.

113 pounds

Championship: Mitch Brinkman, PA pinned Dillon Samuelson, MNW, 5:35; Third-place: Colin Corey, SCC pinned Harmon Atwood, WB-M, 1:42.

120 pounds

Championship: Harley Janssen, MNW dec. Jorge McDonald, AA, 10-9; Third-place: Landon Makison, SCC pinned Keaton Jondle, PV, 2:29.

126 pounds

Championship: Chase Goodman, SCC tech fall Jordan Rosenboom, MNW, 16-0; Third-place: Austin Thompson, GT pinned Riley DaSilva, SC/LM, 1:09.

132 pounds

Championship: Logan Peed, SCC pinned Logan Klingson, PV, 1:50; Third-place: Cody Blair, MNW pinned Cody Cameron, AA 3:15.

138 pounds

Championship: Payton Rice, MNW pinned Trey Eddy, SCC, 1:09; Third-place: Brandon Ure, PV, tech fall Colin Haberl, East Sac, 21-4.

145 pounds

Championship: Daniel Sommerlot, PA dec. Connor Alne, MNW, 4-3; Third-place: Tyler Hoffman, GT pinned Dillon Olson, AA, 3:13.

152 pounds

Championship: Taylor Clough, PV pinned Zayne Barrett, SCC, :52; Third-place: Tyler Hubrich, PA pinned Matt McGrauth, GT, 3:08.

160 pounds

Championship: Lucas Dolder, MNW dec. Tyler Kutz, SCC, 3-2; Third-place: Danny Eslick, SW-G pinned Mauel Aurelio, AA, 1:49.

170 pounds

Championship: Spencer Fluckiger, SW-G dec. Tyler Case, PA, 9-7; Third-place: Chris Villhauer, ES dec. Tom Nahnsen, PV, 11-5.

182 pounds

Championship: Rylan Richardson, SCC major dec. Nathan Krueger, MNW, 16-7; Third-place: Douglas Jorgensen, PV, dec. Matt Koenig, SC/LM, 3-0.

195 pounds

Championship: Matt Streit, PV major dec. Cameron Graff, SC/LM, 16-5; Third-place: Nolan Machovec, SCC pinned Kyle Long, GT, 4:30.

220 pounds

Championship: Garrett VanHouten, AA dec. Jeremy Watson, PA, 9-7; Third-place: Grant Bockoven, PV pinned Zeb McCubbin, SCC, 1:54.

285 pounds

Championship: Aron King, SCC dec. Cody Thompson, GT, 5-2; Third-place: Josh Dahlsten, PA pinned Tim Butcher, MNW, 3:52.

Prairie Valley's champions were Spencer Johnson (106), Taylor Clough (152) and Matt Streit (195).

Pocahontas Area's Mitch Brinkman (113) and Daniel Sommerlot (145) were also champions.

Southeast Webster-Grand's Spencer Fluckiger (170) was the lone Eagle champion.

Garrett Van Houten of Alta/Aurelia (220) was the lone non-area champion.



I am looking for: