Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

FD Council members to take oath Tuesday

December 31, 2011
Messenger News

New members of the Fort Dodge City Council and those who were re-elected will take the oath of office during a ceremony Tuesday morning.

The ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. in the Municipal Building, 819 First Ave. S.

The new council members are Kim Alstott, Dean Hill and Mark Taylor. The council members who were re-elected are Dave Flattery and Don Wilson.

A special council meeting will begin at noon Tuesday in the Municipal Building.

The mayor pro tem and the dean of the council will be elected at that session. The mayor pro tem will preside over the meetings when Mayor Matt Bemrich is absent. The dean of the council will preside when both the mayor and mayor pro tem are unavailable.

The council members will also pick their committee assignments. The council has the following committees: boards and commissions, engineering and streets, leisure time, planning and community development, public safety, utilities and ways and means.

The council will also consider endorsing a bid to make Fort Dodge one of 10 Blue Zones in the state. Successful applicants for the program will receive funding from Wellmark Blue Cross/Blue Shield for healthy living programs.



I am looking for: