Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Golden Apple awards are Wednesday

Seven Webster County educators to be honored

April 25, 2011
By JESSE HELLING, Messenger city editor , Messenger News

The Fort Dodge Area Chamber of Commerce will recognize seven area educators for their excellence in teaching when they are presented with Golden Apple Awards Wednesday.

This year's recipients are Kim Bodholdt, Jen Cordle, Joi Rasmussen, Dan Cassady, Dana Oswald, Jenai Kennedy and Emily Woelfel.

Bodholdt is a guidance counselor at Feelhaver Elementary School. She was nominated by fellow recipient Cordle. who teaches kindergarten at Feelhaver.

Cordle was nominated by Maria Lehman.

Cassady, who teaches instrumental music at St. Edmond High School, was nominated by Kristin Bodholdt.

Kennedy, who teaches English at Fort Dodge Senior High, was nominated by David Keane.

Oswald, a preschool teacher at St. Edmond, was nominated by Margaret Junkman.

Rasmussen, a level two special education teacher at Cooper Elementary School. was nominated by Tina Gerdes.

Woelfel, a fifth- and sixth-grade teacher at St. Paul Lutheran School, was nominated by Robyn Kratz.

Each year the Chamber honors outstanding area educators with Golden Apple awards.

To be chosen for this recognition, teachers must be nominated by students, colleagues or members of the public. A Chamber committee makes the final selections from the nominees.

To be eligible for nomination, teachers may teach at any Webster County-based school, including Catholic, Lutheran and Christian schools.

Contact Jesse Helling at (515) 573-2141 or



I am looking for: