Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Education Briefs

July 18, 2008
Messenger News

FD schools receive preschool grant

Fort Dodge Community School District received the voluntary 4-year-old preschool grant. This means all 4-year-olds will receive a quality preschool program. Tuition is free.

To be eligible to attend the preschool, the child must be four years old by Sept. 15.

The following preschools are part of the grant:

All sites are taking registrations. For more information, contact the appropriate site.

Gustafson is on law school dean's list

Joanna Gustafson, daughter of Char Gustafson, Fort Dodge, and the late Rich Gustafson, was placed on the spring 2008 William Mitchell College of Law Dean's List in St. Paul, Minn. Gustafson received the honor because she earned a grade point average of 3.5 or better.

This recognition is given to approximately the top 10 percent of the student body.

Gustafson is a 2002 graduate of Prairie Valley High School, Gowrie, and will be graduating from William Mitchell College of Law in May 2009. She is presently working for Minnesota Legal Aid in the immigration department.

Wartburg recognizes area students

WAVERLY - The Wartburg College Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs has released the 2008 Winter Term and May Term Dean's List.

To be placed on the Dean's List for Winter and May terms, a student must earn a 3.5 grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale) in at least five course credits during the two terms. Four of the five course credits must be graded with a traditional letter grade.

Wartburg is a four-year, selective liberal arts college of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Students placed on the 2008 Winter Term and May Term Dean's List include: Algona: Wendy Vitzthum and Alyssa Walker; Ayrshire: Amanda Rouse; Bode: Amber McMahon; Britt: John Mallen and Lori Tlach, Dakota City: Justin Hanson; Emmetsburg: BrieAnn Reedy and Emily VanOosbree; Estherville: Jenna Larson; Fort Dodge: Brandon Moeller; Gowrie: Amanda Jorgensen.

Humboldt: Laura Blair and Krystal Larsen; Jefferson: Adam Pedersen; Manson: Erryn Warnke; Pocahontas: Dominic Schnell; Renwick: Meghan Pedersen; Webster City: Emily Long and Justine Trueblood.

McMullen is on Grinnell Dean's List

GRINNELL - Katherine J. McMullen, of Fort Dodge, has been named to the Grinnell College Dean's List for the spring semester.

To make the Dean's List, students must have a grade point average of 3.75 or above.



I am looking for: