Turner returns as Missouri Synod district president

The Rev. Dr. Steve Turner, Ft. Dodge, was returned to his office as president of the Iowa West District of The Lutheran Church — Missouri Synod, having been re-elected at the recently completed 40th Convention of the District.

Turner previously served parishes in Marcus and Algona before being elected president in 2015. He is joined by the Rev. Roger Carlisle, Peace Lutheran Church, Wall Lake; and the Rev. Paul Egger, St. John Lutheran Church, Galva, who were also re-elected as first and second vice presidents, respectively.

Iowa District West includes the western half of the state and includes nearly 59,000 members in 170 congregations, including the recently added church, The Gate Lutheran Church, Ankeny. There are also 40 parochial preschools and eight elementary schools in the district.