Christmasland to debut for holiday season in Humboldt

HUMBOLDT — Christmasland in Humboldt will open for the holiday season on Friday.

This marks the 37th year of this popular holiday attraction sponsored by the Humboldt/Dakota City Noon Kiwanis Club. It has been visited by more than 140,000 people since its opening in 1982. Visitors from most of the 50 U.S. states and some foreign countries have seen the displays. Last year there were more than 4,000 visitors to Kiwanis Christmasland. The goal of the exhibit is to provide an attraction that people of all ages can enjoy.

For 2018, there will be a new scene at Christmasland, along with several updates and improvements

Christmasland is located directly south of Humboldt City Hall at 407 First Ave. S. It is one block south of the Humboldt Law Enforcement Center then one-half block east.

Christmasland will be open and closed as listed below for the 2018 holiday season.

Friday, Nov. 23 – 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 24-25, 2:30-4:30 p.m. and 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Monday-Wednesday, Nov. 26-28, closed.

Thursday and Friday, Nov. 29-30, 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 1-2, 2:30-4:30 p.m. and 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Monday-Wednesday, Dec. 3-5, closed.

Thursday-Friday, Dec. 6-7, 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 8-9, 2:30-4:30 p.m. and 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Monday and Tuesday, Dec. 10-11, closed.

Wednesday-Friday, Dec. 12-14, 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 15-16, 2:30-4:30 p.m. and 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Monday-Wednesday, Dec. 17-19, 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Thursday-Friday, Dec. 20-21, 2:30-4:30 p.m. and 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 22-23, 2:30-4:30 p.m. and 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 24, last day, 2:30-4:30 p.m.

Christmasland will be closed for inclement weather. Notification will be posted outside and via the Humboldt-Dakota City Noon Kiwanis Facebook page. The Kiwanis Club has never charged admission to Christmasland, however donations are appreciated as they help the exhibit grow.

Christmasland will be open by arrangement for group tours. Call Dave Lee at (515) 890-0116 to schedule a day and time. All school groups, nursing homes, group homes, church groups, businesses and civic organizations are welcome.

COMMENTS